or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Communities United Institute

2010 Overall Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 62 Steven Bradford Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
Joe Coto 100%
Mike Eng 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 100%
Mary Hayashi 100%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Sandré Swanson 100%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 48 Roger Hernandez Democratic 99%
Christine Kehoe 99%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 99%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 99%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 99%
Gloria Romero 99%
Lori Saldaña 99%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 98%
Hector De La Torre 98%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 98%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 98%
Dean Florez 98%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 98%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 98%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 98%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 98%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 98%
Mary Salas 98%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 98%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 98%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 97%
Amina Carter 97%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 97%
Mike Davis 97%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 97%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 97%
Fiona Ma 97%
Tony Mendoza 97%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 97%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 97%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 97%
Alberto Torrico 97%
Elaine Alquist 96%
Denise Ducheny 96%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 96%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 96%
Jose Solorio 96%
Juan Arambula 95%
Pedro Nava 95%
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 95%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 94%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 94%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 94%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 94%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 94%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 93%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 93%
CA State Assembly 43 Mike Gatto Democratic 93%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 92%
Charles Calderon 91%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 91%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 91%
Warren Furutani 90%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 89%
Anna Caballero 87%
Alyson Huber 78%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 76%
Jenny Oropeza 58%
Patricia Wiggins 54%
Roy Ashburn 51%
Nathan Fletcher 50%
Tom Harman 46%
Mike Villines 45%
Anthony Adams 44%
Danny Gilmore 43%
Audra Strickland 43%
Van Tran 43%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 42%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 41%
Tony Strickland 41%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 40%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 40%
Cameron Smyth 39%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 39%
Bill Berryhill 38%
CA State Senate 14 Tom Berryhill Republican 38%
Charles DeVore 38%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 37%
Roger Niello 37%
Samuel Aanestad 36%
Martin Garrick 36%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 36%
Chris Norby 36%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 35%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 35%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 35%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 35%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 34%
George Runner, Jr. 34%
Jim Silva 34%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 33%
Dennis Hollingsworth 33%
Robert Dutton 32%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 32%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 32%
Jeff Miller 32%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 31%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 29%
Sam Blakeslee 12%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top