or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Communities United Institute

2010 Minority Issues Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 62 Steven Bradford Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
Joe Coto 100%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 100%
Mike Eng 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
Dean Florez 100%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
Mary Hayashi 100%
CA State Assembly 48 Roger Hernandez Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 100%
Sandré Swanson 100%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 98%
Amina Carter 98%
Hector De La Torre 98%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 98%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 98%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 98%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 98%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 98%
Mary Salas 98%
Elaine Alquist 97%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 97%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 97%
Denise Ducheny 97%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 97%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 97%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 97%
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 97%
Tony Mendoza 95%
Alberto Torrico 95%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 93%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 93%
Mike Davis 93%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 93%
Warren Furutani 93%
Pedro Nava 90%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 88%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 88%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 88%
CA State Assembly 43 Mike Gatto Democratic 88%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 88%
Fiona Ma 88%
Jose Solorio 88%
Juan Arambula 86%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 86%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 86%
Anna Caballero 79%
Charles Calderon 79%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 79%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 76%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 73%
Jenny Oropeza 57%
Patricia Wiggins 53%
Alyson Huber 52%
Tom Harman 30%
Roy Ashburn 27%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 23%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 23%
George Runner, Jr. 23%
Tony Strickland 23%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 23%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 20%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 20%
Anthony Adams 19%
Nathan Fletcher 19%
Audra Strickland 19%
Samuel Aanestad 17%
CA State Senate 14 Thomas Berryhill Republican 17%
Robert Dutton 17%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 17%
Dennis Hollingsworth 17%
Van Tran 17%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 14%
Cameron Smyth 14%
Mike Villines 14%
Danny Gilmore 12%
Chris Norby 12%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 10%
Bill Berryhill 10%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 10%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 10%
Charles DeVore 10%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 10%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 10%
Martin Garrick 10%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 10%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 10%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 10%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 10%
Jeff Miller 10%
Roger Niello 10%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 10%
Jim Silva 10%
Sam Blakeslee 7%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top