or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Communities United Institute

2010 Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Intersex Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 62 Steven Bradford Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 100%
Joe Coto 100%
Hector De La Torre 100%
Denise Ducheny 100%
Mike Eng 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 43 Mike Gatto Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
Mary Hayashi 100%
CA State Assembly 48 Roger Hernandez Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Fiona Ma 100%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 100%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 100%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Jose Solorio 100%
Sandré Swanson 100%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 98%
Mike Davis 98%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 98%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 98%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 98%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 98%
Tony Mendoza 98%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 98%
Mary Salas 98%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 98%
Elaine Alquist 97%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 97%
Dean Florez 97%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 97%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 97%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 97%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 97%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 95%
Amina Carter 95%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 95%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 95%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 95%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 95%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 95%
Alberto Torrico 95%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 94%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 94%
Juan Arambula 93%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 93%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 91%
Anna Caballero 90%
Charles Calderon 90%
Warren Furutani 90%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 90%
Alyson Huber 90%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 83%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 78%
Roy Ashburn 75%
Nathan Fletcher 60%
Jenny Oropeza 53%
Patricia Wiggins 50%
Anthony Adams 40%
Tom Harman 38%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 33%
Van Tran 33%
Mike Villines 33%
Charles DeVore 30%
Danny Gilmore 30%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 30%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 30%
Roger Niello 30%
Audra Strickland 30%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 28%
Cameron Smyth 25%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 23%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 22%
Chris Norby 21%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 20%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 20%
Samuel Aanestad 19%
Dennis Hollingsworth 19%
Martin Garrick 18%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 16%
Bill Berryhill 15%
Sam Blakeslee 13%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 13%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 13%
Jeff Miller 13%
Tony Strickland 13%
CA State Senate 14 Thomas Berryhill Republican 10%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 10%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 10%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 10%
Jim Silva 10%
Robert Dutton 9%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 9%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 8%
George Runner, Jr. 6%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top