State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 24
CA U.S. House-2 Jared Huffman D 100
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 17
CA U.S. House-8 Paul Cook R 38
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 22
CA U.S. House-11 Mark DeSaulnier D 99
CA U.S. House-26 Julia Brownley D 99
CA U.S. House-33 Ted Lieu D 93
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 99
CA U.S. House-45 Mimi Walters R 20
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 96
CA State Senate-1 Ted Gaines R 22
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 100
CA State Senate-5 Cathleen Galgiani D 84
CA State Senate-8 Tom Berryhill R 28
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 96
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 100
CA State Senate-15 James Beall, Jr. D 100
CA State Senate-16 Jean Fuller R 27
CA State Senate-21 Sharon Runner R 31
CA State Senate-22 Edward Hernandez D 100
CA State Senate-24 Kevin de Leon D 100
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 26
CA State Senate-32 Tony Mendoza D 98
CA State Senate-38 Joel Anderson R 19
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla D 99
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 100
CA Supervisor-1 Kevin Jeffries R 26
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 99
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 28
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 24
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 97
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo N/A 99
CA Council Member-2 Paul Krekorian N/A 99
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 16
CA Council Member-7 Felipe Fuentes N/A 99
CA Council Member-9 Curren Price, Jr. N/A 100
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 27
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 98
CA State Board of Equalization Fiona Ma D 99
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. R 20
Samuel Aanestad 17
Richard Ackerman 16
Anthony Adams 37
Gregory Aghazarian 31
Elaine Alquist 99
Juan Arambula 89
Roy Ashburn 22
James Battin 33
Patty Berg 100
Sam Blakeslee 36
Anna Caballero 100
Charles Calderon 95
Ron Calderon 97
Amina Carter 98
Ellen Corbett 96
Lou Correa 68
Joe Coto 100
Dave Cox 16
Mike Davis 99
Hector De La Torre 98
Charles DeVore 29
Denise Ducheny 85
Robert Dutton 18
Michael Duvall 27
Mervyn Dymally 100
Bill Emmerson 34
Mike Eng 100
Noreen Evans 96
Mike Feuer 100
Dean Florez 67
Bonnie Garcia 45
Martin Garrick 25
Tom Harman 15
Mary Hayashi 99
Dennis Hollingsworth 13
Shirley Horton 39
Guy Houston 27
Betty Karnette 100
Richard Keene 28
Christine Kehoe 99
Sheila Kuehl 98
John Laird 100
Lloyd Levine 98
Sally Lieber 97
Michael Machado 90
Abel Maldonado 36
Bob Margett 23
Bill Maze 28
Carole Migden 99
Eugene Mullin 100
Pedro Nava 100
Gloria Negrete McLeod 98
Roger Niello 27
Fabian Núñez 99
Jenny Oropeza 97
Nicole Parra 87
Don Perata 96
George Plescia 30
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 100
Gloria Romero 98
Ira Ruskin 99
Mary Salas 96
Lori Saldaña 100
Jack Scott 98
Jim Silva 29
Cameron Smyth 29
Jose Solorio 100
Nell Soto 72
Darrell Steinberg 97
Audra Strickland 41
Sandré Swanson 100
Alberto Torrico 99
Van Tran 33
Mike Villines 27
Edward Vincent 76
Patricia Wiggins 97
Mark Wyland 16
Leland Yee 98

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.