Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

2010 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office Name Party Rating
SC U.S. Senate-Jr Tim Scott R A
SC U.S. House-2 Joe Wilson, Sr. R A+
SC U.S. House-3 Jeff Duncan R A
SC U.S. House-4 Trey Gowdy III R A
SC U.S. House-5 Mick Mulvaney R A
SC U.S. House-6 Jim Clyburn D F
SC Governor Nikki Haley R A
SC State House-1 William Whitmire R A
SC State House-2 William Sandifer III R A+
SC State House-3 B. R. Skelton R A
SC State House-4 Davey Hiott R A
SC State House-5 Phillip Owens R A
SC State House-6 Brian White R A+
SC State House-7 Michael Gambrell R A
SC State House-8 Don Bowen R A
SC State House-9 Anne Thayer R A
SC State House-14 Michael Pitts R A+
SC State House-16 Mark Willis R A
SC State House-18 Tommy Stringer R A
SC State House-19 Dwight Loftis R A
SC State House-20 Daniel Hamilton R A
SC State House-22 Wendy Nanney R A
SC State House-23 Chandra Dillard D B
SC State House-24 Bruce Bannister R A
SC State House-27 Garry Smith R A+
SC State House-28 Eric Bedingfield R A
SC State House-29 Dennis Moss R A
SC State House-30 Steve Moss R A
SC State House-31 Harold Mitchell, Jr. D A
SC State House-32 Derham Cole, Jr. R A-
SC State House-33 Eddie Tallon, Sr. R B+
SC State House-34 Mike Forrester R A
SC State House-35 William Chumley R A
SC State House-36 Rita Allison R A
SC State House-38 Doug Brannon R A-
SC State House-40 Walton McLeod III D B-
SC State House-42 Mike Anthony D A
SC State House-43 Greg Delleney, Jr. R A+
SC State House-45 Deborah Long R A
SC State House-46 Gary Simrill R A
SC State House-47 Tommy Pope R C+
SC State House-48 Ralph Norman R A
SC State House-49 John King D C+
SC State House-50 Grady Brown D A
SC State House-51 J. David Weeks D A
SC State House-52 Laurie Funderburk D A
SC State House-53 Ted Vick D A
SC State House-55 Jackie Hayes D A
SC State House-58 Liston Barfield R A
SC State House-59 Terry Alexander D C
SC State House-60 Phillip Lowe R A
SC State House-61 Lester Branham, Jr. D A
SC State House-62 Robert Williams D C-
SC State House-63 Kristopher Crawford R A
SC State House-65 James Lucas R A
SC State House-66 Gilda Cobb-Hunter D B-
SC State House-67 Murrell Smith, Jr. R A+
SC State House-69 Richard Quinn, Jr. R A
SC State House-70 Joseph Neal D C+
SC State House-71 Nathan Ballentine R A
SC State House-72 James Smith, Jr. D A-
SC State House-73 Chris Hart D C
SC State House-74 Todd Rutherford D A-
SC State House-76 Leon Howard D C+
SC State House-77 Joe McEachern D C+
SC State House-80 Jimmy Bales D B+
SC State House-82 William Clyburn, Sr. D C+
SC State House-83 William Hixon R A
SC State House-84 Roland Smith R A
SC State House-85 Chip Huggins R A
SC State House-86 Bill Taylor R A
SC State House-88 McLain Toole R A
SC State House-89 Kenneth Bingham R A
SC State House-90 Bakari Sellers D B
SC State House-91 Lonnie Hosey D A-
SC State House-92 Joe Daning R C+
SC State House-94 Jenny Horne R A
SC State House-95 Jerry Govan, Jr. D C
SC State House-96 L. Spires R A-
SC State House-97 Patsy Knight D A
SC State House-99 James Merrill R A
SC State House-102 Joseph Jefferson, Jr. D B
SC State House-103 Carl Anderson D B+
SC State House-104 Tracy Edge R A
SC State House-106 Nelson Hardwick R A
SC State House-107 Alan Clemmons R A
SC State House-109 David Mack III D C
SC State House-110 Chip Limehouse III R A+
SC State House-111 Wendell Gilliard D C-
SC State House-112 Mike Sottile R A
SC State House-113 Seth Whipper D A
SC State House-114 Robert Harrell, Jr. R A+
SC State House-115 Peter McCoy, Jr. R A-
SC State House-116 Robert Brown D B
SC State House-118 William Herbkersman R A
SC State House-119 Leonidas Stavrinakis D B
SC State House-121 Kenneth Hodges D A-
SC State House-122 Bill Bowers D A
SC State House-123 Andrew Patrick R A
SC State House-124 Shannon Erickson R A
SC State Senate-5 Thomas Corbin R A
SC State Senate-7 Karl Allen Other B+
SC State Senate-24 Tom Young, Jr. R A
SC State Senate-27 Vincent Sheheen D A-
SC Attorney General Alan Wilson R A
SC Secretary of State Mark Hammond R B+
SC Comptroller General Richard Eckstrom R A+
SC Treasurer Curtis Loftis, Jr. R A
Paul Agnew A
Ken Ard A
James Battle, Jr. A-
Eric Bikas A
Joan Brady A
Curtis Brantley C+
Boyd Brown A
Ashley Cooper C+
Daniel Cooper A+
Jan Crangle B-
James DeMint A
Thomas Dobbins B-
Lee Edwards A
Sheri Few A
Ben Frasier A
Delores Frazer F
Marion Frye A
Judy Gilstrap C+
Alvin Greene C
James Harrison A+
Cathy Harvin A
George Hearn C+
Christine Jackson D
Butch Johnson A
Herbert Kirsh A-
Tom Kolarik A
John Lewis B
Jennings Gary McAbee A
Rob McCoy A
Rob Miller A
Vida Miller A
Barbara Mishoe B
James Neal A
Denny Neilson A
James Nelson D+
Harry Ott, Jr. A
Steve Parker A
Anne Parks D
Anne Peterson Hutto A
Sean Pike B+
Lewis Pinson A+
Matthew Richardson B+
Kevin Ryan A
Stephen Salter A
John Spratt, Jr. D
Charles Stoudemire, Jr. B+
C. David Umphlett, Jr. A
Thad Viers A+
Joseph Waters B+

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.