Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

2008 Lifetime Score

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
SD U.S. House At-Large Kristi Noem Republican A-
SD State House 3 Daniel Kaiser Republican B+
SD State House 3 Al Novstrup Republican A
SD State House 5 Roger Solum Republican A-
SD State House 11 Mark Willadsen Republican A-
SD State House 15 Patrick Kirschman Democratic D
SD State House 16 Jim Bolin Republican B+
SD State House 18 Jean Hunhoff Republican A
SD State House 21 Julie Bartling Democratic A-
SD State House 23 Justin Cronin Republican A-
SD State House 24 Tim Rounds Republican A
SD State House 25 Roger Hunt Republican B+
SD State House 29 Thomas Brunner Republican A+
SD State House 30 Lance Russell Republican A
SD State House 30 Mike Verchio Republican A
SD State House 32 Brian Gosch Republican A
SD State House 33 Jacqueline Sly Republican D
SD State Senate 1 Jason Frerichs Democratic B
SD State Senate 2 Brock Greenfield Republican A+
SD State Senate 3 David Novstrup Republican A
SD State Senate 4 Jim Peterson Democratic A
SD State Senate 7 Larry Tidemann Republican B
SD State Senate 9 Deb Peters Republican A-
SD State Senate 13 Phyllis Heineman Republican A-
SD State Senate 20 Mike Vehle Republican B
SD State Senate 27 James Bradford Democratic F
SD State Senate 28 Betty Olson Republican A+
SD State Senate 33 Phil Jensen Republican A
SD State Senate 34 Craig Tieszen Republican F
SD Secretary of State Shantel Krebs Republican B+
SD Commissioner 3 Tom Hansen A-
Gene Abdallah A+
Stanford Adelstein C
Dan Ahlers B-
Kenneth Albers A-
Jamie Boomgarden A+
Lance Carson A
Darrell Cordes A
Joni Cutler B+
Thomas Deadrick A
Thomas Dempster C
H. Dennert A-
Brian Dreyer B+
Burt Elliott C
Elaine Elliott C
Richard Engels B+
Bob Faehn A-
Marc Feinstein F
Dennis Finch B-
Arthur Fryslie A
Jason Gant A+
Cooper Garnos A-
James Gilkerson C+
Margaret Gillespie B+
Bob Gray B+
Wayne Greenfield A-
Cliff Hadley A
Joshua Haeder A
Gary Hanson B
Dale Hargens A-
Jeffrey Haverly A
Scott Heidepriem F
Jerad Higman A
Alan Hoerth B
Charlie Hoffman B+
Gordon Howie A
James Hundstad C+
Everett Hunt A-
L. Jensen B-
Sandy Jerstad C
Kent Juhnke A
Thomas Katus F
Mark Kirkeby B+
Frank Kloucek B+
David Knudson D
Al Koistinen A+
Pete Kopp A
John Koskan A
Dan Lederman A-
Larry Lucas F
David Lust B+
Ryan Maher A
Ed McLaughlin B+
Fred McPherson A-
Kathleen Miles B
John Mogen A-
Garry Allen Moore A-
Benjamin Nesselhuf F
Eldon Nygaard C
Janelle O'Connor B
Russell Olson A
Ryan Olson A-
Jodi Owen F
Carol Pitts A
J.E. Putnam A
Dawn Rasmussen B+
Valentine Rausch B+
Tim Rave A-
Larry Rhoden A
Tracy Saboe B
Kim Sargent C
Todd Schlekeway B+
Dennis Schmidt A
Orville Smidt B+
Darrell Solberg F
Manny Steele A
Glennis Stern A
Bob Stevens F
Steve Street B+
William Thompson F
R. Shawn Tornow A-
Hjalmer Tschetter A
Nancy Turbak Berry B+
Charles Turbiville A
Theresa Two Bulls F
Kim Vanneman B
Hal Wick A+
Les Wolff A

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top