Search Form
Now choose a category »

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: ACLU of Colorado

2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Bob Bacon 92%
CO State Senate 27 David Balmer Republican 27%
Debbie Benefield 91%
Betty Boyd 85%
CO State Senate 1 Greg Brophy Republican 38%
CO State Senate 12 Bill Cadman Republican 31%
Terrance Carroll 73%
Edward Casso 73%
Kathleen Curry 91%
CO State House 2 Mark Ferrandino Democratic 100%
CO State House 53 Randy Fischer Democratic 91%
K. Jerry Frangas 100%
Sara Gagliardi 82%
CO State House 20 Bob Gardner Republican 45%
CO U.S. House 4 Cory Gardner Republican 45%
CO Commissioner At-Large Dan Gibbs Democratic 85%
CO State Senate 30 Ted Harvey Republican 38%
James Isgar 92%
Joel Judd 91%
CO State Senate 14 John Kefalas Democratic 91%
Maryanne Keller 92%
CO State Senate 22 Andy Kerr Democratic 91%
James Kerr 55%
Kenneth Kester 38%
CO State Senate 7 Steven King Republican 64%
Mike Kopp 31%
CO State House 1 Jeanne Labuda Democratic 91%
CO State Senate 9 Kent Lambert Republican 18%
Claire Levy 91%
Larry Liston 36%
Marsha Looper 45%
Don Marostica 73%
Thomas Massey, Jr. 55%
Michael May 55%
CO Commissioner 2 Liane McFadyen Democratic 91%
Wes McKinley 73%
CO State House 43 Frank McNulty Republican 45%
Michael Merrifield 91%
Karen Middleton 82%
Shawn Mitchell 54%
John Morse 100%
CO State House 35 Cherylin Peniston Democratic 91%
Joshua Penry 62%
John Pommer 91%
CO State House 33 Dianne Primavera Democratic 73%
CO State Senate 13 Scott Renfroe Republican 31%
Joe Rice 91%
James Riesberg 82%
CO State Senate 6 Ellen Roberts Republican 55%
Chris Romer 92%
Christine Scanlan 91%
David Schultheis 31%
CO State Senate 5 Gail Schwartz Democratic 92%
Brandon Shaffer 100%
CO Council Member 1 Susan Shepherd 92%
Judy Solano 91%
CO State House 65 Jerry Sonnenberg Republican 36%
John Soper 64%
Nancy Spence 31%
CO State House 19 Amy Stephens Republican 55%
Kenneth Guy Summers 36%
CO State House 37 Spencer Swalm Republican 36%
Abel Tapia 92%
CO State Senate 24 Lois Tochtrop Democratic 77%
CO State Senate 28 Nancy Todd Democratic 91%
Glenn Vaad 45%
Jennifer Veiga 92%
Paul Weissmann 100%
Suzanne Williams 92%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top