or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Cato Institute

2001-2002 Trade Barrier Votes Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 36%
Gary Ackerman 36%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 45%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 14%
Todd Akin 64%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 88%
Thomas Allen 55%
Rob Andrews 18%
Joe Baca, Sr. 36%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 64%
Brian Baird 45%
Richard Hugh Baker 73%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 36%
Cass Ballenger 55%
J. Gresham Barrett 45%
Roscoe Bartlett 36%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 55%
Charlie Bass 82%
Max Baucus 88%
Evan Bayh 38%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 45%
Bob Bennett 100%
Douglas Bereuter 82%
Shelley Berkley 27%
Howard Berman 55%
Marion Berry 36%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 38%
Judy Biggert 91%
Brian Bilbray 36%
Michael Bilirakis 36%
Jeff Bingaman 50%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 45%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 50%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 70%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 73%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 64%
Mary Bono Mack 70%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 100%
Leonard Boswell 55%
Rick Boucher 45%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 13%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 45%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 82%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 36%
John Breaux 88%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 20%
Henry Brown, Jr. 64%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 27%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Jim Bunning 75%
Conrad Burns 71%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 55%
Dan Burton 50%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 50%
Steve Buyer 50%
Robert Byrd 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 55%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 64%
Ben Campbell 38%
Chris Cannon 73%
Eric Cantor 73%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 50%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 27%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 45%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 36%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 36%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 50%
Brad Carson 73%
Mike Castle 64%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 45%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 88%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 55%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 45%
Hillary Clinton 13%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 45%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 18%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 88%
Michael Collins 45%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 63%
Larry Combest 70%
Kent Conrad 13%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 44%
Jon Corzine 13%
Jerry Costello 36%
Christopher Cox 55%
Larry Craig 88%
Robert Cramer 55%
Philip Crane 73%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 88%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 55%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 55%
Barbara Cubin 56%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 45%
Randall Cunningham 45%
Thomas Daschle 38%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 36%
James Davis 55%
Jo Ann Davis 18%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 25%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 36%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 45%
Bill Delahunt 45%
Thomas DeLay 67%
James DeMint 73%
Peter Deutsch 27%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 100%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 45%
Norm Dicks 73%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 36%
Chris Dodd 13%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 55%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
Calvin Dooley 91%
John Doolittle 55%
Byron Dorgan 13%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 45%
David Dreier 82%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 9%
Jennifer Dunn 73%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 13%
John Edwards 25%
Chet Edwards 64%
Vern Ehlers 73%
Jo Ann Emerson 82%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 20%
Philip English 64%
John Ensign 88%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 86%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 55%
Bob Etheridge 64%
Lane Evans 36%
Terry Everett 40%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 55%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 36%
Russ Feingold 0%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 43%
Michael Ferguson 55%
Bob Filner 45%
Peter Fitzgerald 88%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 90%
Ernest Fletcher 73%
Mark Foley 45%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 64%
Harold Ford, Jr. 55%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 50%
Barney Frank 36%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 64%
William Frist 100%
Jonas Frost III 45%
Elton Gallegly 64%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 18%
Jim Gibbons 60%
Wayne Gilchrest 90%
Charlie Gonzalez 64%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 0%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 64%
Bart Gordon 45%
Porter Goss 64%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 18%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 73%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 100%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 91%
Mark Green 55%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 9%
James Greenwood 82%
Judd Gregg 88%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 27%
Gilbert Gutknecht 55%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 64%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 25%
Jane Harman 55%
Melissa Hart 45%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 20%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 64%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 88%
Robert Hayes 36%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 40%
Joel Hefley 27%
Wally Herger, Jr. 82%
Baron Hill 64%
Maurice Hinchey 36%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 90%
David Lee Hobson 55%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 45%
Pete Hoekstra 36%
Thomas Holden 27%
Ernest Hollings 13%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 45%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 45%
Darlene Hooley 45%
John Nathan Hostettler 60%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 70%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 36%
Kenny Hulshof 73%
Duncan Hunter 20%
Kay Hutchison 88%
Henry Hyde 45%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top