or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Cato Institute

2001-2002 Trade Subsidy Votes Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
Charlie Bass 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
Jon Corzine 100%
Christopher Cox 100%
Philip Crane 100%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 100%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 100%
John Ensign 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
Judd Gregg 100%
Dick Lugar 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 100%
FL U.S. House 1 Jefferson Miller Republican 100%
Don Nickles 100%
Ron Paul 100%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 100%
Rick Santorum 100%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 100%
John Shadegg 100%
John Sullivan 100%
Tom Tancredo 100%
George Voinovich 100%
Zach Wamp 100%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 86%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 86%
Thomas DeLay 86%
Pete Hoekstra 86%
Scott McInnis 86%
Major Owens 86%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 86%
John Sununu 86%
Jim Bunning 75%
Dan Burton 75%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 75%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 75%
Russ Feingold 75%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 75%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 75%
Jon Kyl 75%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 75%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 75%
Arlen Specter 75%
Craig Thomas 75%
Rob Andrews 71%
Howard Berman 71%
Judy Biggert 71%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 71%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 71%
Thomas Davis III 71%
James DeMint 71%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 71%
Michael Ferguson 71%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 71%
Barney Frank 71%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 71%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 71%
Joel Hefley 71%
John Nathan Hostettler 71%
Nancy Johnson 71%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 71%
John Linder 71%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 71%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 71%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 71%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 71%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 71%
James Ramstad 71%
Christopher Shays 71%
Pete Stark 71%
Cliff Stearns 71%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 71%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 71%
Anthony Weiner 71%
Bob Bennett 67%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 67%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 67%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 60%
William Lipinski 60%
Todd Akin 57%
Roscoe Bartlett 57%
Michael Bilirakis 57%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 57%
Mike Castle 57%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 57%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 57%
Peter Deutsch 57%
John Doolittle 57%
David Dreier 57%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 57%
Porter Goss 57%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 57%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 57%
Dennis Kucinich 57%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 57%
Tom Lantos 57%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 57%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 57%
Michael McNulty 57%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 57%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 57%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 57%
Todd Platts 57%
Edward Schrock 57%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 57%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 57%
Ellen Tauscher 57%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 57%
Bill Young 57%
Wayne Allard 50%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 50%
Ben Campbell 50%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 50%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 50%
Larry Craig 50%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 50%
Bill Delahunt 50%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 50%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 50%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 50%
Peter Fitzgerald 50%
William Frist 50%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 50%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 50%
Herb Kohl 50%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 50%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 50%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 50%
Gordon Smith 50%
Olympia Snowe 50%
Ted Stevens 50%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 50%
John Warner 50%
Gary Ackerman 43%
Thomas Allen 43%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 43%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 43%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 43%
Jo Ann Davis 43%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 43%
Jennifer Dunn 43%
Vern Ehlers 43%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 43%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 43%
Mark Green 43%
Jane Harman 43%
Maurice Hinchey 43%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 43%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 43%
Paul Kanjorski 43%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 43%
Ric Keller 43%
Sue Kelly 43%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 43%
Gerald Kleczka 43%
James Kolbe 43%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 43%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 43%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 43%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 43%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 43%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 43%
Dennis Moore 43%
Sue Myrick 43%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 43%
Robert William Ney 43%
Anne Northup 43%
Dave Obey 43%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 43%
Donald Payne 43%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 43%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 43%
Deborah Pryce 43%
Steve Rothman 43%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 43%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 43%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 43%
Jim Saxton 43%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 43%
Donald Sherwood 43%
Robert Ruhl Simmons 43%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 43%
Nick Smith 43%
Bart Stupak 43%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 43%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 43%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 43%
Jim Gibbons 40%
Jack Murtha 40%
Elton Gallegly 33%
Karen McCarthy 33%
Alan Mollohan 33%
John Peterson 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top