Rating Group: Sierra Club California

2008 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-2 Jared Huffman D 100%
CA U.S. House-8 Paul Cook R 10%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 0%
CA U.S. House-26 Julia Brownley D 100%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 57%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 90%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100%
CA State Senate-1 Ted Gaines R 0%
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 100%
CA State Senate-5 Cathleen Galgiani D 30%
CA State Senate-6 Darrell Steinberg D 89%
CA State Senate-10 Ellen Corbett D 100%
CA State Senate-14 Tom Berryhill R 20%
CA State Senate-15 James Beall, Jr. D 100%
CA State Senate-18 Jean Fuller R 0%
CA State Senate-20 Alex Padilla D 100%
CA State Senate-22 Kevin de Leon D 100%
CA State Senate-24 Edward Hernandez D 100%
CA State Senate-28 Ted Lieu D 90%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 43%
CA State Senate-34 Lou Correa D 43%
CA State Senate-36 Joel Anderson R 0%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 0%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 100%
CA Supervisor-1 Kevin Jeffries R 10%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 100%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 100%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 100%
CA Council Member-2 Paul Krekorian D 90%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 0%
CA Council Member-7 Felipe Fuentes D 90%
CA Council Member-9 Curren Price, Jr. D 90%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Anthony Adams 10%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 80%
Roy Ashburn 0%
Sam Blakeslee 60%
Anna Caballero 80%
Charles Calderon 67%
Amina Carter 80%
Joe Coto 90%
Dave Cox 14%
Mike Davis 90%
Hector De La Torre 90%
Charles DeVore 0%
Denise Ducheny 86%
Robert Dutton 0%
Michael Duvall 0%
Bill Emmerson 20%
Mike Eng 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
Dean Florez 100%
Warren Furutani 100%
Martin Garrick 0%
Tom Harman 29%
Mary Hayashi 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Fiona Ma 90%
Abel Maldonado 57%
Tony Mendoza 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
Roger Niello 20%
Jenny Oropeza 86%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 100%
Gloria Romero 86%
George Runner, Jr. 0%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Mary Salas 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Jim Silva 0%
Cameron Smyth 30%
Jose Solorio 90%
Audra Strickland 30%
Sandré Swanson 100%
Alberto Torrico 90%
Van Tran 13%
Mike Villines 0%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Leland Yee 86%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.