Rating Group: Sierra Club California

2007 Positions on Environmental Conservation

Issues: Environment
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 0
CA U.S. House-2 Jared Huffman D 100
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 0
CA U.S. House-8 Paul Cook R 0
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 0
CA U.S. House-26 Julia Brownley D 100
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 70
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 100
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100
CA State Senate-1 Ted Gaines R 0
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 100
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 100
CA State Senate-5 Cathleen Galgiani D 25
CA State Senate-6 Darrell Steinberg D 100
CA State Senate-7 Mark DeSaulnier D 100
CA State Senate-8 Leland Yee D 82
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 100
CA State Senate-10 Ellen Corbett D 100
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 100
CA State Senate-14 Tom Berryhill R 0
CA State Senate-15 James Beall, Jr. D 100
CA State Senate-18 Jean Fuller R 0
CA State Senate-20 Alex Padilla D 90
CA State Senate-22 Kevin de Leon D 100
CA State Senate-24 Edward Hernandez D 75
CA State Senate-28 Ted Lieu D 92
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 8
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 70
CA State Senate-34 Lou Correa D 20
CA State Senate-36 Joel Anderson R 0
CA State Senate-37 Mimi Walters R 0
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 9
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 100
CA Supervisor-1 Kevin Jeffries R 0
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 91
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 8
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 0
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 100
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 100
CA Council Member-2 Paul Krekorian D 100
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 0
CA Council Member-7 Felipe Fuentes D 91
CA Council Member-9 Curren Price, Jr. D 92
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 0
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 100
Samuel Aanestad 0
Richard Ackerman 0
Anthony Adams 0
Gregory Aghazarian 17
Elaine Alquist 100
Juan Arambula 100
Roy Ashburn 0
James Battin 0
Patty Berg 100
Sam Blakeslee 17
Anna Caballero 92
Charles Calderon 62
Amina Carter 100
Joe Coto 92
Dave Cox 9
Mike Davis 92
Hector De La Torre 92
Charles DeVore 0
Denise Ducheny 70
Robert Dutton 0
Michael Duvall 0
Mervyn Dymally 83
Bill Emmerson 0
Mike Eng 100
Mike Feuer 100
Dean Florez 73
Bonnie Garcia 8
Martin Garrick 0
Tom Harman 10
Mary Hayashi 100
Dennis Hollingsworth 0
Shirley Horton 8
Guy Houston 0
Betty Karnette 100
Richard Keene 0
Christine Kehoe 90
Sheila Kuehl 100
John Laird 100
Lloyd Levine 100
Sally Lieber 100
Fiona Ma 92
Michael Machado 70
Abel Maldonado 30
Bob Margett 20
Bill Maze 0
Tony Mendoza 83
Carole Migden 100
Eugene Mullin 100
Pedro Nava 92
Roger Niello 0
Fabian Núñez 92
Jenny Oropeza 100
Nicole Parra 31
Don Perata 90
George Plescia 0
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 92
Gloria Romero 100
George Runner, Jr. 0
Sharon Runner 0
Ira Ruskin 100
Mary Salas 77
Lori Saldaña 100
Jack Scott 100
Jim Silva 0
Cameron Smyth 0
Jose Solorio 83
Nell Soto 100
Audra Strickland 0
Sandré Swanson 100
Alberto Torrico 92
Van Tran 8
Mike Villines 0
Edward Vincent 88
Patricia Wiggins 100

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.