Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Sierra Club California

2004 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Gregory Aghazarian 0%
Richard Alarcón 88%
Roy Ashburn 0%
James Battin 0%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 0%
Patty Berg 91%
Rudy Bermúdez 55%
Russell Bogh 0%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 88%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 64%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 0%
Joseph Canciamilla 45%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 88%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 100%
Edward Chavez 64%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 0%
Rebecca Cohn 64%
Dave Cox 0%
Lynn Daucher 0%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 0%
Denise Ducheny 50%
Joseph Dunn 100%
Robert Dutton 0%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dean Florez 50%
Dario Frommer 91%
Bonnie Garcia 0%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
Tom Harman 18%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Jerome Horton 36%
Shirley Horton 0%
Guy Houston 0%
Richard Keene 0%
Christine Kehoe 91%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 89%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 0%
Jay La Suer 0%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
Robert Leslie 0%
Lloyd Levine 91%
Sally Lieber 100%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 91%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 91%
Michael Machado 38%
Abel Maldonado 27%
Bob Margett 0%
Barbara Matthews 18%
Bill Maze 0%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 0%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 9%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 75%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 0%
Joseph Nation 100%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 55%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 91%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Nicole Parra 9%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
Don Perata 100%
George Plescia 0%
Charles Poochigian 0%
Keith Stuart Richman 0%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas Democratic 91%
Gloria Romero 100%
Sharon Runner 0%
Simón Salinas 82%
Jack Scott 88%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 100%
Nell Soto 100%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer Republican 0%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 45%
Edward Vincent 50%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 82%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 0%
Leland Yee 82%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top