Rating Group: North Dakota AFL-CIO

2007 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office Name Party Rating
ND State House-1 Patrick Hatlestad R 29%
ND State House-1 Gary Sukut R 29%
ND State House-2 Robert Skarphol R 29%
ND State House-4 Glen Froseth R 29%
ND State House-4 Kenton Onstad D-NPL 94%
ND State House-6 Bob Hunskor D-NPL 94%
ND State House-8 Jeff Delzer R 29%
ND State House-9 Tracy Boe D-NPL 70%
ND State House-10 Charles Damschen R 23%
ND State House-10 David Monson R 23%
ND State House-11 Scot Kelsh D-NPL 100%
ND State House-13 Kim Koppelman R 23%
ND State House-13 Alon Wieland R 23%
ND State House-14 Jon Nelson R 35%
ND State House-14 Robin Weisz R 29%
ND State House-15 Curt Hofstad R 23%
ND State House-15 Dennis Johnson R 23%
ND State House-18 Eliot Glassheim D-NPL 82%
ND State House-21 Steven Zaiser D-NPL 94%
ND State House-22 Wesley Belter R 23%
ND State House-23 Don Vigesaa R 17%
ND State House-25 Clark Williams D-NPL 76%
ND State House-26 Bill Amerman D-NPL 100%
ND State House-27 Randy Boehning R 23%
ND State House-28 Michael Don Brandenburg R 23%
ND State House-28 William Kretschmar R 35%
ND State House-29 Craig Headland R 29%
ND State House-29 Chet Pollert R 29%
ND State House-32 Mark Dosch R 23%
ND State House-32 Lisa Meier R 23%
ND State House-33 Brenda Heller R 35%
ND State House-33 Gary Kreidt R 35%
ND State House-34 Todd Porter R 35%
ND State House-35 Karen Karls R 29%
ND State House-35 Bob Martinson R 29%
ND State House-37 Nancy Johnson R 23%
ND State House-38 Larry Bellew R 23%
ND State House-38 Dan Ruby R 17%
ND State House-39 David Drovdal R 23%
ND State House-39 Keith Kempenich R 23%
ND State House-40 Matthew Klein R 29%
ND State House-41 Al Carlson R 23%
ND State House-41 Bette Grande R 29%
ND State House-43 Lois Delmore D-NPL 94%
ND State House-44 Blair Thoreson R 23%
ND State House-45 Ed Gruchalla D-NPL 88%
ND State House-46 Kathy Hawken R 35%
ND State House-46 James Kasper R 23%
ND State House-47 George Keiser R 23%
ND State House-47 Larry Klemin R 23%
ND State Senate-1 Stanley Lyson R 71%
ND State Senate-2 John Andrist R 36%
ND State Senate-4 John Warner D-NPL 100%
ND State Senate-6 David O'Connell D-NPL 100%
ND State Senate-9 Richard Marcellais D-NPL 79%
ND State Senate-11 Tim Mathern D-NPL 100%
ND State Senate-13 Judy Lee R 64%
ND State Senate-14 Jerry Klein R 50%
ND State Senate-15 Dave Oehlke R 64%
ND State Senate-17 Ray Holmberg R 79%
ND State Senate-18 Constance Triplett D-NPL 93%
ND State Senate-21 Carolyn Nelson D-NPL 93%
ND State Senate-22 Gary Lee R 64%
ND State Senate-23 Joan Heckaman D-NPL 86%
ND State Senate-24 Larry Robinson D-NPL 93%
ND State Senate-28 Robert Erbele R 71%
ND State Senate-29 Terry Wanzek R 50%
ND State Senate-32 Dick Dever R 64%
ND State Senate-34 Dwight Cook R 71%
ND State Senate-37 Rich Wardner R 79%
ND State Senate-39 Bill Bowman R 57%
ND State Senate-40 Karen Krebsbach R 57%
ND State Senate-41 Tony Grindberg R 71%
ND State Senate-44 Tim Flakoll R 79%
ND State Senate-47 Ralph Kilzer R 50%
ND Public Service Commissioner Randel Christmann R 64%
ND Commissioner-At-Large Merle Boucher D-NPL 100%
Arden Anderson 100%
JoNell Bakke 100%
Arthur Behm 86%
Rick Berg 23%
Donald Clark 23%
Kari Lee Conrad 100%
Stacey Dahl 35%
Duane Lee DeKrey 47%
Mary Ekstrom 94%
Tom Fiebiger 93%
Tom Fischer 64%
Layton Freborg 64%
Rod Froelich 82%
Chris Griffin 100%
Lyle Hanson 94%
Robert Horne 79%
Lee Kaldor 88%
RaeAnn Kelsch 29%
James Kerzman 94%
Joyce Kingsbury 23%
Aaron Krauter 93%
Joe Kroeber 100%
Elroy Lindaas 93%
Ralph Metcalf 70%
Shirley Meyer 94%
Phillip Mueller 94%
Lee Myxter 88%
Dave Nething 71%
Darrell Nottestad 23%
Curtis Olafson 57%
Vonnie Pietsch 23%
Louis Pinkerton 64%
Jim Pomeroy 93%
Louise Potter 82%
Tracy Potter 100%
Arlo Schmidt 94%
Jasper Schneider 100%
Tom Seymour 100%
Bob Stenehjem 57%
Ken Svedjan 23%
Ryan Taylor 93%
Elwood Thorpe 94%
Gerald Uglem 23%
Ben Vig 94%
Francis Wald 23%
John Wall 29%
Dave Weiler 23%
Lisa Wolf 100%
Dwight Wrangham 35%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.