or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California League of Conservation Voters

2009 Lifetime Score

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 11%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 10%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 70%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 96%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 96%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 98%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 5%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 95%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 95%
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 9%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 90%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 14%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 91%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 10%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 52%
CA State Assembly 62 Steven Bradford Democratic 88%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 71%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 14%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 3%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 98%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 88%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 10%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 37%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 97%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 97%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 99%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 99%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 95%
CA State Senate 14 Tom Berryhill Republican 15%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 98%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 8%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 5%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 93%
CA State Senate 24 Edward Hernandez Democratic 87%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 91%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 95%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 4%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 67%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 76%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 58%
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 75%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 7%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 2%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 4%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 89%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 98%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 10%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 3%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 99%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 93%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian Democratic 98%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 95%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 4%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 83%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 95%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 96%
Samuel Aanestad 5%
Anthony Adams 16%
Elaine Alquist 96%
Juan Arambula 76%
Roy Ashburn 4%
Bill Berryhill 24%
Sam Blakeslee 25%
Anna Caballero 85%
Charles Calderon 76%
Amina Carter 87%
Joe Coto 87%
Dave Cox 7%
Mike Davis 88%
Hector De La Torre 90%
Charles DeVore 3%
Denise Ducheny 81%
Robert Dutton 5%
Michael Duvall 2%
Bill Emmerson 11%
Mike Eng 97%
Mike Feuer 100%
Nathan Fletcher 33%
Dean Florez 61%
Warren Furutani 86%
Martin Garrick 7%
Danny Gilmore 24%
Tom Harman 18%
Mary Hayashi 95%
Dennis Hollingsworth 2%
Alyson Huber 48%
Christine Kehoe 95%
Fiona Ma 95%
Abel Maldonado 43%
Tony Mendoza 84%
Jeff Miller 5%
Pedro Nava 98%
Roger Niello 6%
Jenny Oropeza 87%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 92%
Gloria Romero 95%
George Runner, Jr. 4%
Ira Ruskin 99%
Mary Salas 97%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Arnold Schwarzenegger 53%
Jim Silva 5%
Cameron Smyth 18%
Jose Solorio 82%
Tony Strickland 5%
Audra Strickland 8%
Sandré Swanson 94%
Alberto Torrico 80%
Van Tran 8%
Mike Villines 4%
Patricia Wiggins 99%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top