or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California League of Conservation Voters

2009 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 10%
Anthony Adams 19%
Elaine Alquist 90%
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 10%
Juan Arambula 86%
Roy Ashburn 5%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 95%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 5%
Bill Berryhill 24%
CA State Senate 14 Tom Berryhill Republican 10%
Sam Blakeslee 33%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 89%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 95%
CA State Assembly 62 Steven Bradford Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 95%
Anna Caballero 81%
Charles Calderon 62%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 67%
Amina Carter 81%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 86%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 5%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 9%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 14%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 29%
Joe Coto 86%
Dave Cox 5%
Mike Davis 86%
Hector De La Torre 90%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 19%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 90%
Charles DeVore 5%
Denise Ducheny 71%
Robert Dutton 10%
Michael Duvall 0%
Bill Emmerson 24%
Mike Eng 90%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 90%
Mike Feuer 100%
Nathan Fletcher 33%
Dean Florez 70%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 90%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 68%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 14%
Warren Furutani 81%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 0%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 48%
Martin Garrick 10%
Danny Gilmore 24%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 10%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 71%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 14%
Tom Harman 0%
Mary Hayashi 86%
CA State Senate 24 Edward Hernandez Democratic 76%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 95%
Dennis Hollingsworth 5%
Alyson Huber 48%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 5%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 10%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 95%
Christine Kehoe 95%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 5%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 81%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 5%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Fiona Ma 90%
Abel Maldonado 38%
Tony Mendoza 62%
Jeff Miller 5%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 57%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 14%
Roger Niello 5%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 9%
Jenny Oropeza 48%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 81%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 91%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 52%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 90%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 90%
Gloria Romero 86%
George Runner, Jr. 0%
Ira Ruskin 95%
Mary Salas 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Arnold Schwarzenegger 28%
Jim Silva 5%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 100%
Cameron Smyth 24%
Jose Solorio 64%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 79%
Tony Strickland 19%
Audra Strickland 18%
Sandré Swanson 86%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 82%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 76%
Alberto Torrico 90%
Van Tran 19%
Mike Villines 5%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 5%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 38%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 10%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 95%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 95%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top