Rating Group: California League of Conservation Voters

2006 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 0%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 0%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 13%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 96%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 7%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-33 Ted Lieu D 96%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 96%
CA U.S. House-45 Mimi Walters R 0%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 87%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 78%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 85%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 100%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 100%
CA State Senate-21 Sharon Runner R 4%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 93%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 100%
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 0%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 89%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan N/A 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer 0%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 0%
CA Supervisor-5 Joe Simitian N/A 100%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo 70%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz 100%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill 4%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 4%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 100%
CA Mayor Pro Tempore-At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 64%
Gregory Aghazarian 4%
Richard Alarcón 91%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 67%
Roy Ashburn 4%
James Battin 0%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Sam Blakeslee 21%
Russell Bogh 7%
Debra Bowen 87%
Ron Calderon 50%
Joseph Canciamilla 52%
Edward Chavez 70%
Wesley Chesbro 91%
Rebecca Cohn 82%
Joe Coto 93%
Dave Cox 4%
Lynn Daucher 19%
Hector De La Torre 90%
Charles DeVore 0%
Denise Ducheny 70%
Joe Dunn 91%
Robert Dutton 9%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Bill Emmerson 4%
Martha Escutia 96%
Noreen Evans 100%
Liz Figueroa 87%
Dean Florez 70%
Dario Frommer 85%
Bonnie Garcia 11%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 10%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 4%
Jerome Horton 86%
Shirley Horton 22%
Guy Houston 4%
Dave Jones 100%
Betty Karnette 89%
Richard Keene 4%
Christine Kehoe 87%
Johan Klehs 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 0%
Robert Leslie 0%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Michael Machado 74%
Abel Maldonado 17%
Bob Margett 9%
Barbara Matthews 44%
Bill Maze 0%
Carole Migden 100%
Cindy Montañez 93%
William Phillip Morrow 4%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 0%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 65%
Joseph Nation 100%
Pedro Nava 93%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 48%
Roger Niello 4%
Fabian Núñez 96%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 87%
Nicole Parra 26%
Don Perata 87%
George Plescia 7%
Charles Poochigian 4%
Keith Stuart Richman 22%
Gloria Romero 96%
George Runner, Jr. 4%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Simón Salinas 81%
Jack Scott 100%
Nell Soto 96%
Audra Strickland 4%
Alberto Torrico 70%
Van Tran 11%
Thomas Umberg 65%
Mike Villines 4%
Edward Vincent 100%
Mark Wyland 7%
Leland Yee 86%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.