Rating Group: California League of Conservation Voters

2005 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 0%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 0%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 9%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 83%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 0%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 56%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 100%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 68%
CA State Assembly-2 Wesley Chesbro D 100%
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 100%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 70%
CA State Senate-8 Leland Yee D 100%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 100%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 100%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 83%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 100%
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 0%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 58%
CA State Senate-37 Mimi Walters R 0%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 0%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen D 87%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 95%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 11%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 0%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 100%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 91%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz D 95%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 5%
CA Council Member-At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 70%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 0%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 100%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Gregory Aghazarian 0%
Richard Alarcón 96%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 58%
Roy Ashburn 4%
James Battin 0%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Sam Blakeslee 11%
Russell Bogh 5%
Joseph Canciamilla 58%
Edward Chavez 74%
Rebecca Cohn 58%
Joe Coto 68%
Dave Cox 9%
Lynn Daucher 15%
Hector De La Torre 95%
Charles DeVore 0%
Denise Ducheny 65%
Joseph Dunn 96%
Robert Dutton 4%
Mervyn Dymally 95%
Bill Emmerson 5%
Martha Escutia 96%
Liz Figueroa 96%
Dean Florez 74%
Dario Frommer 89%
Bonnie Garcia 6%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 16%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Jerome Horton 74%
Shirley Horton 30%
Guy Houston 0%
Betty Karnette 95%
Richard Keene 5%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Johan Klehs 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 5%
Robert Leslie 5%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Michael Machado 57%
Abel Maldonado 22%
Bob Margett 5%
Barbara Matthews 35%
Bill Maze 0%
Carole Migden 100%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 4%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 0%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 68%
Joseph Nation 100%
Pedro Nava 95%
Roger Niello 0%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 95%
Deborah Ortiz 96%
Nicole Parra 45%
Don Perata 96%
George Plescia 0%
Charles Poochigian 9%
Keith Stuart Richman 16%
Gloria Romero 95%
George Runner, Jr. 0%
Sharon Runner 0%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Simón Salinas 75%
Jack Scott 96%
Nell Soto 91%
Audra Strickland 0%
Alberto Torrico 50%
Van Tran 5%
Thomas Umberg 74%
Mike Villines 0%
Edward Vincent 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.