Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California League of Conservation Voters

2002 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Deirdre Alpert 93%
Roy Ashburn 6%
CA State Senate 36 Pat Bates Republican 0%
James Battin 0%
Russell Bogh 11%
Debra Bowen 94%
James Brulte 0%
John Burton 100%
Ron Calderon 65%
John Campbell III 0%
Joseph Canciamilla 60%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo No Party Affiliation 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 100%
Edward Chavez 88%
Wesley Chesbro 94%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 11%
Rebecca Cohn 87%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Lou Correa 57%
Dave Cox 5%
Lynn Daucher 0%
Manny Diaz 95%
Joseph Dunn 94%
John Anthony Dutra 73%
Martha Escutia 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 94%
Dean Florez 47%
Dario Frommer 80%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 6%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
CA State Board of Equalization Jerome Horton Democratic 87%
Shirley Horton 87%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 100%
Ross Johnson 0%
Betty Karnette 94%
Christine Kehoe 95%
William Knight 0%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz No Party Affiliation 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
Jay La Suer 5%
Robert Leslie 0%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 100%
John Longville 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 95%
Michael Machado 75%
Ken Maddox 5%
Abel Maldonado 29%
Bob Margett 7%
Barbara Matthews 33%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 0%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 50%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 0%
Kevin Murray 87%
George Nakano 89%
Joseph Nation 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 82%
Thomas Oller 0%
Jenny Oropeza 83%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Robert Pacheco 0%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
Don Perata 100%
Charles Poochigian 0%
Sarah Reyes 67%
Keith Stuart Richman 0%
Gloria Romero 100%
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. Republican 0%
Simón Salinas 89%
Jack Scott 100%
Byron Sher 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 100%
Nell Soto 93%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 100%
Darrell Steinberg 100%
Tony Strickland 5%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 94%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 83%
John Vasconcellos 93%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 100%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Mark Wyland 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top