Rating Group: Equality Utah

2007 Positions on LGBT Rights

State Office Name Party Rating
UT State House-1 Ronda Menlove R 83
UT State House-3 Jack Draxler R 67
UT State House-8 Gage Froerer R 50
UT State House-11 Brad Dee R 50
UT State House-13 Paul Ray R 67
UT State House-14 Curtis Oda R 50
UT State House-18 Roger Barrus R 67
UT State House-23 Jennifer Seelig D 100
UT State House-30 Janice Fisher D 100
UT State House-31 Larry Wiley D 100
UT State House-35 Mark Wheatley D 100
UT State House-37 Carol Spackman Moss D 100
UT State House-38 Eric Hutchings R 67
UT State House-39 James Dunnigan R 67
UT State House-40 Lynn Hemingway D 100
UT State House-42 Jim Bird R 67
UT State House-44 Tim Cosgrove D 83
UT State House-51 Gregory Hughes R 67
UT State House-53 Melvin Brown R 67
UT State House-55 John Mathis R 67
UT State House-61 Keith Grover R 50
UT State House-64 Becky Lockhart R 50
UT State House-70 Kay McIff R 67
UT State House-71 Bradley Last R 67
UT State House-73 Michael Noel R 67
UT State Senate-3 Gene Davis D 75
UT State Senate-4 Patricia Jones D 75
UT State Senate-6 Wayne Harper R 67
UT State Senate-9 Wayne Niederhauser R 25
UT State Senate-11 Howard Stephenson R 50
UT State Senate-13 Mark Madsen R 50
UT State Senate-14 John Valentine R 25
UT State Senate-15 Margaret Dayton R 50
UT State Senate-16 Curt Bramble R 50
UT State Senate-17 Peter Knudson R 50
UT State Senate-19 Allen Christensen R 50
UT State Senate-20 Scott Jenkins R 25
UT State Senate-25 Lyle Hillyard R 25
UT State Senate-26 Kevin Van Tassell R 50
UT State Senate-29 Stephen Urquhart R 0
UT Auditor John Dougall R 67
UT Commissioner of Insurance Todd Kiser R 67
UT Mayor-At-Large Ralph Becker 100
UT Commissioner-At-Large Kerry Gibson R 67
Doug Aagard 67
Sheryl Allen 67
Sylvia Andersen 67
Gregory Bell 50
Ron Bigelow 50
Jackie Biskupski 100
DeMar Bowman 50
D. Chris Buttars 25
David Buxton 67
David Clark 50
Stephen Clark 50
Greg Curtis 50
Brad Daw 50
Mike Dmitrich 50
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 67
Carl Duckworth 83
Dan Eastman 50
Ben Ferry 67
Fred Fife III 75
Julie Fisher 50
Lorie Fowlke 50
Craig Frank 67
Kevin Garn 67
Brent Goodfellow 75
James Gowans 67
Jon Greiner 50
Neil Hansen 83
Neal Hendrickson 83
Christopher Herrod 50
John Hickman 25
Kory Holdaway 50
Fred Hunsaker 67
Christine Johnson 100
Sheldon Killpack 50
Brad King 100
David Litvack 100
Steven Mascaro 50
Ed Mayne 75
Scott McCoy 75
Rosalind McGee 100
Karen Morgan 83
Michael Morley 50
Paul Neuenschwander 67
Merlynn Newbold 67
Patrick Painter 50
Darin Peterson 50
Phil Riesen 83
Ross Romero 100
Stephen Sandstrom 50
LaWanna Shurtliff 83
Gordon Snow 50
Dennis Stowell 50
Kenneth Sumsion 67
Aaron Tilton 33
Michael Waddoups 50
Carlene Walker 50
Mark Walker 67
Richard Wheeler 50
Carl Wimmer 67
Scott Wyatt 67

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.