or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: South Carolina Business and Industry Political Education Committee

2006 Positions on Pro-Business Policy

State Office District Name Party Rating
Paul Agnew 9.20
Ralph Anderson 12.57
James Battle, Jr. 41.80
Joan Brady 21.36
Floyd Breeland 43.10
Harry Cato 46.30
Catherine Ceips 39.50
Richard Chalk, Jr. 52.80
SC Treasurer Converse Chellis III 36.30
Daniel Cooper 53.10
William Cotty 20.70
Thomas Dantzler 44
Guy Davenport, Jr. 26.30
John Drummond 26.80
Dick Elliott 63.70
Robert Ford 6.83
Marion Frye 50.20
Ben Hagood, Jr. 27.90
Glenn Hamilton 44
James Harrison 23.60
Cathy Harvin 19.20
Gloria Haskins 2.80
John Hawkins 61.60
Shirley Hinson 34.30
Douglas Jennings, Jr. 48.20
Kenneth Kennedy 50.80
Herbert Kirsh 63.20
Jake Knotts, Jr. 36
John Land III 61.30
Robert Leach, Sr. 31.20
Phil Leventis 35.50
Lanny Littlejohn 26.42
Joseph Mahaffey, Sr. 44
Glenn McConnell 38.60
William Mescher 61.60
Vida Miller 24.50
Bessie Moody-Lawrence 39.10
Tommy Moore 13.60
James Neal 12.23
Denny Neilson 13.70
Harry Ott, Jr. 36.50
Anne Parks 13.90
Kay Patterson 42.40
Robert Perry, Jr. 61.50
Olin Phillips 13.90
Lewis Pinson 32.20
Edward Pitts, Jr. 39.60
Rex Rice 93.60
Scott Richardson 36.80
James Ritchie, Jr. 52.80
Greg Ryberg 58.10
Wallace Scarborough 34.30
Randy Scott 58.10
Linda Short 13
Donald Smith 57.20
Fletcher Smith, Jr. 7.60
William Smith 6.70
James Stewart, Jr. 43.20
Scott Talley 26.30
Adam Taylor, Sr. 48
David Thomas 45.60
Michael Thompson 31.90
C. David Umphlett, Jr. 30.60
Thad Viers 31.10
Robert Walker 54.80
William Witherspoon 50.80
Annette Young 38.40
SC State House 103 Carl Anderson Democratic 42.90
SC State House 42 Mike Anthony Democratic 28.52
SC State House 80 Jimmy Bales Democratic 18
SC State House 122 Bill Bowers Democratic 15
SC State House 61 Lester Branham, Jr. Democratic 22.10
SC State House 50 Grady Brown Democratic 35
SC State House 116 Robert Brown Democratic 47.41
SC State House 82 William Clyburn, Sr. Democratic 18.10
SC State House 66 Gilda Cobb-Hunter Democratic 26
SC State Senate 17 Creighton Coleman Democratic 3.32
SC State House 52 Laurie Funderburk Democratic 15.94
SC State House 95 Jerry Govan, Jr. Democratic 29.61
SC State House 55 Jackie Hayes Democratic 63.90
SC State House 121 Kenneth Hodges Democratic 41.70
SC State House 91 Lonnie Hosey Democratic 41.20
SC State House 76 Leon Howard Democratic 32.50
SC State Senate 40 Brad Hutto Democratic 63.60
SC State Senate 21 Darrell Jackson Democratic 49.90
SC State House 102 Joseph Jefferson, Jr. Democratic 47.90
SC State Senate 22 Joel Lourie Democratic 24.90
SC State House 109 David Mack III Democratic 33.10
SC State Senate 29 Gerald Malloy Democratic 42.40
SC State Senate 39 John Matthews, Jr. Democratic 42.40
SC Lieutenant Governor John McGill Democratic 65.10
SC State House 40 Walton McLeod III Democratic 20.10
SC State House 31 Harold Mitchell, Jr. Democratic 31.20
SC State House 70 Joseph Neal Democratic 36
SC State Senate 45 Clementa Pinckney Democratic 36.20
SC State Senate 11 Glenn Reese Democratic 17.90
SC State House 74 Todd Rutherford Democratic 50
SC State Senate 19 John Scott, Jr. Democratic 36.50
SC State Senate 26 Nikki Setzler Democratic 36.50
SC State Senate 27 Vincent Sheheen Democratic 45
SC State House 72 James Smith, Jr. Democratic 40.62
SC State House 53 Ted Vick Democratic 18.50
SC State House 51 J. David Weeks Democratic 56.80
SC State House 113 Seth Whipper Democratic 19.20
SC State Senate 30 Kent Williams Democratic 58.30
SC State Senate 7 Karl Allen Democratic, Working Families 12.95
SC State Senate 1 Thomas Alexander Republican 69.70
SC State House 71 Nathan Ballentine Republican 34
SC State House 24 Bruce Bannister Republican 24.40
SC State House 58 Liston Barfield Republican 63.50
SC State House 89 Kenneth Bingham Republican 43.10
SC State Senate 3 Kevin Bryant Republican 50.60
SC State Senate 43 George Campsen III Republican 32.50
SC State Senate 34 Ray Cleary III Republican 42.10
SC State House 107 Alan Clemmons Republican 46
SC State Senate 20 John Courson Republican 30.10
SC State Senate 18 Ronnie Cromer Republican 61.60
SC State House 43 Greg Delleney, Jr. Republican 20.60
SC U.S. House 3 Jeff Duncan Republican 58.70
SC State House 104 Tracy Edge Republican 57.90
SC State Senate 6 Michael Fair Republican 65.60
SC State Senate 16 Chauncey Gregory Republican 62
SC State Senate 37 Larry Grooms Republican 48.60
SC Governor Nikki Haley Republican 45.60
SC State House 106 Nelson Hardwick Republican 56.80
SC State House 114 Robert Harrell, Jr. Republican 55.30
SC State Senate 15 Wes Hayes, Jr. Republican 48.10
SC State House 118 William Herbkersman Republican 14.80
SC State House 4 Davey Hiott Republican 53.70
SC State House 85 Chip Huggins Republican 32.30
SC State Senate 31 Hugh Kenneth Leatherman, Sr. Republican 52.40
SC State House 110 Chip Limehouse III Republican 34.70
SC State House 19 Dwight Loftis Republican 60.20
SC State House 65 James Lucas Republican 23.23
SC State Senate 2 Larry Martin Republican 73.70
SC State House 99 James Merrill Republican 31.80
SC State Senate 4 William O'Dell Republican 50.10
SC State House 5 Phillip Owens Republican 78.20
SC State Senate 14 Harvey Smith Peeler, Jr. Republican 65.60
SC State House 14 Michael Pitts Republican 22.40
SC State Senate 33 Luke Rankin, Sr. Republican 37.10
SC State House 2 William Sandifer III Republican 33.50
SC State House 46 Gary Simrill Republican 32.90
SC State House 3 B. R. Skelton Republican 70.90
SC State House 27 Garry Smith Republican 42.90
SC State House 67 Murrell Smith, Jr. Republican 39
SC State House 84 Roland Smith Republican 53.30
SC State House 88 McLain Toole Republican 51.10
SC State Senate 9 Daniel Verdin III Republican 49
SC State House 6 Brian White Republican 54.80
SC State House 1 William Whitmire Republican 15.10

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top