or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Virginia FREE

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
VA U.S. House 5 Robert Hurt Republican 63%
VA U.S. House 9 Morgan Griffith Republican 52%
VA State House 1 Terry Kilgore Republican 56%
VA State House 13 Bob Marshall Republican 48%
VA State House 14 Danny Marshall III Republican 71%
VA State House 22 Kathy Byron Republican 69%
VA State House 24 Benjamin Cline Republican 62%
VA State House 25 Steve Landes Republican 62%
VA State House 28 William Howell Republican 54%
VA State House 30 Edward Scott Republican 76%
VA State House 31 Scott Lingamfelter Republican 56%
VA State House 36 Ken Plum Democratic 55%
VA State House 39 Vivian Watts Democratic 53%
VA State House 40 Tim Hugo Republican 71%
VA State House 42 David Albo Republican 60%
VA State House 43 Mark Sickles Democratic 64%
VA State House 54 Bobby Orrock, Sr. Republican 70%
VA State House 58 Robert Bell III Republican 63%
VA State House 61 Thomas Wright, Jr. Republican 63%
VA State House 62 Riley Ingram Republican 71%
VA State House 65 Lee Ware, Jr. Republican 67%
VA State House 66 Kirk Cox Republican 61%
VA State House 73 John O'Bannon III Republican 66%
VA State House 76 Chris Jones Republican 71%
VA State House 77 Lionell Spruill, Sr. Democratic 50%
VA State House 79 Johnny Joannou Democratic 56%
VA State House 86 Thomas Rust Republican 64%
VA State House 88 Mark Cole Republican 71%
VA State House 92 Jeion Ward Democratic 57%
VA State House 95 Mamye BaCote Democratic 58%
VA State Senate 2 Mamie Locke Democratic 63%
VA State Senate 3 Thomas Norment, Jr. Republican 82%
VA State Senate 4 Ryan McDougle Republican 54%
VA State Senate 5 Kenny Alexander Democratic 65%
VA State Senate 6 Lynwood Lewis, Jr. Democratic 76%
VA State Senate 7 Frank Wagner Republican 87%
VA State Senate 10 John Watkins Republican 86%
VA State Senate 11 Stephen Martin Republican 73%
VA State Senate 12 Walter Stosch Republican 81%
VA State Senate 13 Richard Hayden Black Republican 52%
VA State Senate 14 John Cosgrove, Jr. Republican 57%
VA State Senate 15 Frank Ruff, Jr. Republican 71%
VA State Senate 18 Louise Lucas Democratic 57%
VA State Senate 21 John Edwards Democratic 55%
VA State Senate 23 Stephen Newman Republican 78%
VA State Senate 24 Emmett Hanger, Jr. Republican 71%
VA State Senate 25 Creigh Deeds Democratic 67%
VA State Senate 26 Mark Obenshain Republican 65%
VA State Senate 29 Charles Colgan, Sr. Democratic 82%
VA State Senate 30 Adam Ebbin Democratic 54%
VA State Senate 32 Janet Howell Democratic 61%
VA State Senate 34 Chap Petersen Democratic 51%
VA State Senate 35 Dick Saslaw Democratic 65%
VA State Senate 36 Toddy Puller Democratic 61%
VA State Senate 40 Charles Carrico, Sr. Republican 60%
VA Justice of the Supreme Court Bill Mims 75%
VA Mayor At-Large Dwight Jones Democratic 49%
Watkins Abbitt, Jr. 65%
Kristen Amundson 68%
Ward Armstrong 63%
Clifford Athey, Jr. 55%
William Barlow 59%
Viola Osborne Baskerville 53%
J. Brandon Bell II 79%
Fenton Bland, Jr. 43%
Harry Blevins 80%
Bill Bolling 67%
Robert Brink 58%
L. Bryant, Jr. 72%
Vince Callahan, Jr. 65%
John Chichester 77%
J. Paul Councill, Jr. 71%
Ken Cuccinelli II 68%
Jeannemarie Devolites Davis 84%
James Hardy Dillard II 70%
Thelma Drake 72%
Allen Wayne Dudley 60%
Albert Eisenberg 59%
William Fralin, Jr. 71%
Jeffrey Frederick 57%
Thomas Gear 52%
Franklin Hall 68%
Phillip Hamilton 41%
Frank Hargrove, Sr. 67%
Charles Hawkins 79%
Clarke Hogan 63%
Edd Houck 68%
Algie Howell, Jr. 65%
Robert Hull 56%
Bill Janis 61%
Joseph Johnson, Jr. 59%
W.B. Keister 54%
Benjamin Joseph Lambert III 65%
Allen Louderback 71%
Bradley Marrs 55%
Henry Marsh III 58%
Joe May 68%
Bob McDonnell 66%
Michéle McQuigg 67%
Kenneth Melvin 49%
Floyd Miles, Sr. 55%
Yvonne Miller 42%
Brian Moran 66%
Harvey Morgan 65%
Samuel Nixon, Jr. 68%
Dave Nutter 67%
James O'Brien, Jr. 79%
Glenn Oder 72%
Harry Parrish 67%
Clarence Phillips 63%
Albert Pollard, Jr. 63%
Harry Potts, Jr. 61%
Phillip Puckett 69%
Bob Purkey 66%
Lacey Putney 69%
Frederick Quayle 62%
Melanie Rapp 68%
Gary Reese 57%
John Spence Reid 61%
D. Nick Rerras 65%
William Reynolds 65%
Christopher Saxman 67%
James Scott 59%
Stephen Shannon 76%
Beverly Sherwood 62%
James Shuler 75%
Kenneth Stolle 86%
Jackie Thomas Stump 61%
Terrie Suit 65%
Robert Tata 65%
Patricia Ticer 64%
Marian Amelia Van Landingham 46%
Mitchell Van Yahres 51%
William Wampler, Jr. 67%
Leo Wardrup, Jr. 59%
Onzlee Ware 51%
Glenn Weatherholtz 64%
John Welch III 48%
Mary Margaret Whipple 61%
Martin Williams 87%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top