Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: PawPAC - California’s Political Action Committee for Animals

2007 Positions on Animal Protection

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic A-
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican F
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican F
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican F
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic A+
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic A+
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic A+
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic A-
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican F
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic A+
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican F
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic B
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic C
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican D
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic A+
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic A+
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic A+
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican F
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic A-
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic A-
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican F
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic B
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican F
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic C
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas A+
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries F
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas A-
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit D
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation A+
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo B
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian A+
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes C
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. A-
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi F
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan A-
Samuel Aanestad F
Richard Ackerman F
Anthony Adams C-
Gregory Aghazarian D
Elaine Alquist A+
Juan Arambula C-
Roy Ashburn F
James Battin F
Sam Blakeslee C
Anna Caballero B
Charles Calderon B
Ron Calderon B
Amina Carter A-
David Cogdill F
Ellen Corbett A
Lou Correa A+
Joe Coto A
Dave Cox F
Mike Davis A-
Hector De La Torre A-
Charles DeVore F
Denise Ducheny D
Robert Dutton F
Michael Duvall F
Bill Emmerson F
Mike Eng A
Noreen Evans A-
Mike Feuer A+
Dean Florez A-
Bonnie Garcia D
Martin Garrick F
Tom Harman F
Mary Hayashi A+
Dennis Hollingsworth F
Guy Houston F
Dave Jones A
Betty Karnette A
Christine Kehoe A-
Sheila Kuehl A+
John Laird A+
Lloyd Levine A+
Fiona Ma A-
Michael Machado B
Abel Maldonado C
Bob Margett F
Bill Maze F
Carole Migden A+
Eugene Mullin A+
Pedro Nava A+
Gloria Negrete McLeod A-
Roger Niello F
Jenny Oropeza A-
Nicole Parra C-
Don Perata A
Anthony Portantino, Jr. B
Gloria Romero A-
George Runner, Jr. F
Ira Ruskin A+
Lori Saldaña A
Jack Scott A-
Jim Silva F
Cameron Smyth C-
Jose Solorio A
Nell Soto A-
Darrell Steinberg A-
Audra Strickland D
Sandré Swanson A-
Alberto Torrico A-
Van Tran F
Mike Villines F
Patricia Wiggins A-
Mark Wyland F
Leland Yee B

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top