or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Friends Committee on National Legislation

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 80%
Gary Ackerman 87%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 7%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 75%
Todd Akin 7%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 0%
Rodney Alexander 33%
Wayne Allard 6%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 80%
Rob Andrews 80%
Joe Baca, Sr. 67%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 20%
Brian Baird 93%
Richard Hugh Baker 7%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 7%
Roscoe Bartlett 27%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 7%
Charlie Bass 13%
Max Baucus 63%
Evan Bayh 44%
Bob Beauprez 7%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 93%
Bob Bennett 6%
Shelley Berkley 64%
Howard Berman 87%
Marion Berry 67%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 75%
Judy Biggert 20%
Michael Bilirakis 13%
Jeff Bingaman 88%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 15%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 47%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 87%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 13%
Sherwood Boehlert 40%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 20%
Kit Bond 7%
Henry Bonilla 7%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 13%
Mary Bono Mack 27%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 13%
Leonard Boswell 73%
Rick Boucher 73%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 94%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 67%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 21%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 67%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 87%
Henry Brown, Jr. 7%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 93%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 6%
Ginny Brown-Waite 0%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 7%
Conrad Burns 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 8%
Dan Burton 0%
Steve Buyer 7%
Robert Byrd 94%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 13%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 7%
Chris Cannon 0%
Eric Cantor 7%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 88%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 13%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 93%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 93%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 80%
Dennis Cardoza 60%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 81%
Julia Carson 86%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 7%
Edward Case 86%
Mike Castle 33%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 7%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 63%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Ben Chandler III 67%
Chris Chocola 7%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 73%
Hillary Clinton 88%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 73%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 0%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 27%
Norm Coleman 6%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 38%
Kent Conrad 69%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 92%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 80%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Jerry Costello 60%
Larry Craig 6%
Robert Cramer 27%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 6%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 13%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 79%
Barbara Cubin 14%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 13%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 87%
Artur Davis 73%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 93%
James Davis 71%
Jo Ann Davis 7%
Lincoln Davis 36%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 80%
Thomas Davis III 33%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 81%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 80%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 93%
Bill Delahunt 87%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 93%
Thomas DeLay 7%
James DeMint 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 19%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 13%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 0%
Norm Dicks 73%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 87%
Chris Dodd 88%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 93%
Elizabeth Dole 6%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
John Doolittle 7%
Byron Dorgan 69%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 73%
David Dreier 13%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 27%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 81%
Chet Edwards 33%
Vern Ehlers 60%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 87%
Jo Ann Emerson 8%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 87%
Philip English 20%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 6%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 87%
Bob Etheridge 87%
Lane Evans 87%
Terry Everett 7%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 87%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 85%
Tom Feeney 7%
Russ Feingold 81%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 88%
Michael Ferguson 18%
Bob Filner 93%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 27%
Mark Foley 13%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 7%
Harold Ford, Jr. 75%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 0%
Barney Frank 93%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 13%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 33%
William Frist 6%
Elton Gallegly 7%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 27%
Jim Gibbons 7%
Wayne Gilchrest 33%
Paul Gillmor 13%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 0%
Charlie Gonzalez 80%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 7%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
Bart Gordon 60%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 7%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 7%
Mark Green 13%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 47%
Judd Gregg 19%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Gilbert Gutknecht 7%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 13%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 88%
Jane Harman 80%
Katherine Harris 13%
Melissa Hart 13%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 87%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 13%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Robert Hayes 0%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 14%
Joel Hefley 33%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 13%
Wally Herger, Jr. 0%
Maurice Hinchey 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top