or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Friends Committee on National Legislation

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 67%
Gary Ackerman 78%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 11%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 78%
Todd Akin 22%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 0%
Rodney Alexander 22%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 78%
Rob Andrews 78%
Joe Baca, Sr. 33%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 11%
Brian Baird 78%
Richard Hugh Baker 11%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 78%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 78%
Cass Ballenger 11%
J. Gresham Barrett 11%
Roscoe Bartlett 33%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Charlie Bass 33%
Max Baucus 67%
Evan Bayh 44%
Bob Beauprez 11%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 75%
Chris Bell 56%
Bob Bennett 0%
Douglas Bereuter 22%
Shelley Berkley 78%
Howard Berman 86%
Marion Berry 33%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 89%
Judy Biggert 11%
Michael Bilirakis 22%
Jeff Bingaman 89%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 44%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 78%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 11%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 88%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 11%
Sherwood Boehlert 56%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 11%
Kit Bond 0%
Henry Bonilla 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 11%
Mary Bono Mack 38%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 11%
Leonard Boswell 67%
Rick Boucher 67%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 89%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 50%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 11%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 44%
John Breaux 56%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 67%
Henry Brown, Jr. 11%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 75%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Ginny Brown-Waite 0%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 0%
Max Burns 11%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 11%
Dan Burton 11%
Steve Buyer 0%
Robert Byrd 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 11%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 11%
Ben Campbell 0%
Chris Cannon 11%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 11%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 89%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 11%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 78%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 78%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 78%
Dennis Cardoza 67%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 89%
Brad Carson 22%
Julia Carson 67%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Edward Case 78%
Mike Castle 44%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 11%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 56%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Chris Chocola 11%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 71%
Hillary Clinton 89%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 56%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 11%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 11%
Norm Coleman 11%
Michael Collins 11%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 11%
Kent Conrad 89%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 67%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 78%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Jon Corzine 89%
Jerry Costello 44%
Christopher Cox 11%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 11%
Philip Crane 11%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 11%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 67%
Barbara Cubin 11%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 11%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 56%
Randall Cunningham 11%
Thomas Daschle 89%
Artur Davis 56%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 78%
James Davis 78%
Jo Ann Davis 0%
Lincoln Davis 56%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 78%
Thomas Davis III 33%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 78%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 78%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 78%
Bill Delahunt 75%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 78%
Thomas DeLay 11%
James DeMint 11%
Peter Deutsch 67%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 11%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 11%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 11%
Norm Dicks 78%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 67%
Chris Dodd 89%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 78%
Elizabeth Dole 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
Calvin Dooley 44%
John Doolittle 11%
Byron Dorgan 89%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 56%
David Dreier 0%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 11%
Jennifer Dunn 22%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 89%
John Edwards 83%
Chet Edwards 33%
Vern Ehlers 67%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 78%
Jo Ann Emerson 14%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 78%
Philip English 11%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 78%
Bob Etheridge 78%
Lane Evans 78%
Terry Everett 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 78%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 88%
Tom Feeney 0%
Russ Feingold 89%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 89%
Michael Ferguson 33%
Bob Filner 78%
Peter Fitzgerald 13%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 0%
Mark Foley 11%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 11%
Harold Ford, Jr. 75%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 11%
Barney Frank 78%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 44%
William Frist 0%
Jonas Frost III 67%
Elton Gallegly 11%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 11%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 44%
Jim Gibbons 11%
Wayne Gilchrest 56%
Paul Gillmor 11%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 11%
Charlie Gonzalez 56%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 0%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 11%
Bart Gordon 56%
Porter Goss 11%
Daniel Graham 50%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 11%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 0%
Mark Green 22%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top