Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Michigan Chamber of Commerce

2000 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MI U.S. Senate Jr Gary Peters Democratic 0%
MI State Senate 15 Mike Kowall Republican 25%
MI Attorney General Bill Schuette Republican 40%
MI Secretary of State Ruth Johnson Republican 75%
MI Trustee At-Large Paul Gieleghem 0%
MI Council Member At-Large Laura M. Toy 33%
MI Commissioner 5 Irma Clark-Coleman 0%
MI Commissioner 6 Burton Leland 0%
MI Commissioner 9 Dale Shugars Republican 40%
MI Commissioner 11 Robert Gosselin Republican 80%
MI Commissioner 14 Raymond Basham 0%
MI Commissioner 17 Nancy Quarles Democratic 0%
Jason Allen 40%
Loren Bennett 50%
Patricia Birkholz 40%
Clark Bisbee 80%
Michael Bishop 80%
Rose Bogardus 0%
Douglas Bovin 0%
Ken Bradstreet 75%
Bob Brown 0%
Cameron Brown 40%
Willis Bullard, Jr. 40%
Dianne Byrum 0%
William Callahan 0%
Nancy Cassis 80%
Sandra Caul 25%
John Cherry, Jr. 0%
Hansen Clarke 0%
Kenneth Daniels 0%
Kenneth DeBeaussaert 0%
Dan DeGrow 40%
Julie Dennis 0%
Gene DeRossett 0%
Larry DeVuyst 50%
Paul DeWeese 60%
Christopher Dingell 0%
Mat Dunaskiss 40%
Stephen Ehardt 80%
Robert Emerson 0%
Joanne Gregory Emmons 40%
Jennifer Faunce 0%
A. T. Frank 0%
Belda P. Garza 0%
Harry Gast 40%
Judson Gilbert II 80%
Patricia A. K. Godchaux 75%
Michael Goschka 20%
Joel Gougeon 40%
Lauren Hager 20%
Derrick Hale 0%
Beverly Hammerstrom 20%
John Hansen 0%
Doug Hart 40%
George Zaven Hart 0%
Philip Edward Hoffman 0%
Jim Howell 25%
Gilda Jacobs 0%
Ruth Ann Jamnick 0%
Mark Jansen 67%
Ron Jelinek 25%
Rick Johnson 80%
R. Shirley Johnson 67%
Larry Julian 40%
James Koetje 80%
Don Koivisto 0%
Wayne Kuipers 80%
Charles LaSata 0%
LaMar Lemmons, Jr. 0%
Patricia Lockwood 0%
George Mans 67%
Thaddeus McCotter 20%
George McManus, Jr. 40%
David Mead 60%
Mary Ann Middaugh 40%
Arthur Miller, Jr. 0%
Jack Minore 0%
Mickey Mortimer 40%
Raymond Murphy 0%
Andy Neumann 0%
Walter North 40%
William O'Neil 40%
John Pappageorge 40%
Bruce Patterson 20%
Steven Pestka 0%
Mike Pumford 20%
Ray Raczkowski 40%
Triette Reeves 0%
Randy Richardville 0%
Andrew Richner 80%
Vera Rison 0%
Joseph Rivet 0%
Sal Rocca 0%
Mark Schauer 0%
Gloria Schermesser 0%
John Schwarz 0%
Judith Scranton 60%
Scott Shackleton 40%
Dale Sheltrown 0%
Marc Shulman 80%
Kenneth Sikkema 40%
Alma Smith 0%
Doug Spade 0%
Keith Stallworth 0%
Tony Stamas 80%
Glenn Steil, Jr. 40%
Leon Stille 40%
Mickey Switalski 0%
Susan Tabor 50%
Samuel Thomas III 0%
Artina Tinsley Hardman 0%
Jerry Vander Roest 75%
William VanRegenmorter 40%
Gerald Van Woerkom 20%
Steve Vear 75%
Joanne Voorhees 80%
Paul Wojno 0%
David Woodward 0%
Gary Woronchak 25%
Joseph Young, Jr. 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top