or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United States Public Interest Research Group

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 100%
Rod Blagojevich 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Patrick Kennedy 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Gary Ackerman 95%
Thomas Allen 95%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 95%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 95%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 95%
Bill Delahunt 95%
Lane Evans 95%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
Bob Filner 95%
Barney Frank 95%
Darlene Hooley 95%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 95%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 95%
John LaFalce 95%
Tom Lantos 95%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 95%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 95%
Martin Meehan 95%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 95%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 95%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 95%
John Olver 95%
Major Owens 95%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 95%
Steve Rothman 95%
Martin Olav Sabo 95%
Christopher Shays 95%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 95%
Ellen Tauscher 95%
Bruce Vento 95%
Robert Wexler 95%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 92%
Richard Bryan 92%
Chris Dodd 92%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 92%
Russ Feingold 92%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 92%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 92%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 92%
Joe Lieberman 92%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 92%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 92%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 91%
Rob Andrews 89%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 89%
Julia Carson 89%
William Coyne 89%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 89%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 89%
Sam Gejdenson 89%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 89%
Gerald Kleczka 89%
Dennis Kucinich 89%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 89%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 89%
William Luther 89%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 89%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 89%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 89%
Constance Morella 89%
Donald Payne 89%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 89%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 89%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 89%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 89%
Pete Stark 89%
Ed Towns 89%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 89%
Jeff Bingaman 85%
Robert Torricelli 85%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 85%
Howard Berman 84%
David Edward Bonior 84%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 84%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 84%
Eva Clayton 84%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 84%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 84%
Julian Dixon 84%
Robert Franks 84%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 84%
Nancy Johnson 84%
Sue Kelly 84%
Nicholas Lampson 84%
James Leach 84%
Robert Matsui 84%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 84%
Karen McCarthy 84%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 84%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 84%
Dave Obey 84%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 84%
James Ramstad 84%
Marge Roukema 84%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 84%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 84%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 84%
Bob Weygand 84%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 82%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 79%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 79%
Robert Borski, Jr. 79%
Mike Castle 79%
Jerry Costello 79%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 79%
Benjamin Gilman 79%
Stephen Horn 79%
Dale Kildee 79%
James Maloney 79%
Michael McNulty 79%
Carrie Meek 79%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 79%
John Edward Porter 79%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 79%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 79%
Vic Snyder 79%
Mel Watt 79%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 77%
Max Baucus 77%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 77%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 77%
Thomas Daschle 77%
Daniel Graham 77%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 77%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 77%
Bob Kerrey 77%
Herb Kohl 77%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 77%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 77%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 77%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 74%
William Clay, Sr. 74%
James Davis 74%
Peter Deutsch 74%
Norm Dicks 74%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 74%
Michael Patrick Forbes 74%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 74%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 74%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 74%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 74%
Rick Lazio 74%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 74%
David Minge 74%
John Moakley 74%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 74%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 74%
Jim Saxton 74%
John Spratt, Jr. 74%
James Merrill Jeffords 69%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 69%
Patrick Moynihan 69%
Charles Robb 69%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 69%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 68%
Brian Bilbray 68%
Vern Ehlers 68%
James Greenwood 68%
Tony Hall 68%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 68%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 68%
Paul Kanjorski 68%
William Lipinski 68%
Timothy Roemer 68%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 68%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 68%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 68%
Albert Wynn 68%
Sherwood Boehlert 63%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 63%
Wayne Gilchrest 63%
Jim Oberstar 63%
Jack Quinn 63%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 63%
Bart Stupak 63%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top