or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United States Public Interest Research Group

2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 77%
Gary Ackerman 95%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 77%
Todd Akin 0%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 9%
Rodney Alexander 0%
Wayne Allard 5%
George Allen 5%
Thomas Allen 95%
Rob Andrews 68%
Joe Baca, Sr. 55%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 0%
Brian Baird 91%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 0%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 82%
Roscoe Bartlett 27%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Charlie Bass 32%
Max Baucus 55%
Evan Bayh 77%
Melissa Bean 77%
Bob Beauprez 0%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Bob Bennett 0%
Shelley Berkley 95%
Howard Berman 95%
Marion Berry 55%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 82%
Judy Biggert 18%
Michael Bilirakis 9%
Jeff Bingaman 64%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 41%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 91%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 5%
Sherwood Boehlert 68%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 0%
Kit Bond 0%
Henry Bonilla 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 9%
Mary Bono Mack 5%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 0%
Dan Boren 23%
Leonard Boswell 45%
Rick Boucher 55%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 5%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 95%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 68%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 41%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 73%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 95%
Henry Brown, Jr. 5%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 95%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 5%
Ginny Brown-Waite 9%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 5%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 9%
Dan Burton 0%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 91%
Steve Buyer 0%
Robert Byrd 64%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 9%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 5%
Chris Cannon 0%
Eric Cantor 5%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 82%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 9%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 95%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 95%
Dennis Cardoza 59%
Russ Carnahan 95%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 64%
Julia Carson 86%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Edward Case 86%
Mike Castle 59%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 5%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 73%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Ben Chandler III 77%
Chris Chocola 0%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 86%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 86%
Hillary Clinton 91%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 82%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 14%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 9%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 0%
Norm Coleman 36%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 68%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 0%
Kent Conrad 55%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 91%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 73%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 59%
Jerry Costello 73%
Larry Craig 5%
Robert Cramer 27%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 5%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 9%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 95%
Barbara Cubin 5%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 18%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 86%
Artur Davis 55%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 82%
Geoff Davis 5%
James Davis 82%
Jo Ann Davis 9%
Lincoln Davis 36%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100%
Thomas Davis III 23%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 91%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 91%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 5%
James DeMint 14%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 45%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 14%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 9%
Norm Dicks 91%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 86%
Chris Dodd 86%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 91%
Elizabeth Dole 5%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 5%
John Doolittle 5%
Byron Dorgan 64%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 68%
Thelma Drake 5%
David Dreier 5%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 5%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 95%
Chet Edwards 36%
Vern Ehlers 45%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 68%
Jo Ann Emerson 9%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 95%
Philip English 5%
John Ensign 9%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 5%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 91%
Bob Etheridge 82%
Lane Evans 95%
Terry Everett 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 86%
Tom Feeney 9%
Russ Feingold 95%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 86%
Michael Ferguson 18%
Bob Filner 95%
PA U.S. House 8 Mike Fitzpatrick Republican 50%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 14%
Mark Foley 18%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 5%
Harold Ford, Jr. 68%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 0%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 9%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 5%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 36%
William Frist 5%
Elton Gallegly 9%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 5%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 50%
Jim Gibbons 5%
Wayne Gilchrest 45%
Paul Gillmor 9%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 0%
Charlie Gonzalez 55%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 14%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
Bart Gordon 59%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 23%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 5%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 5%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 55%
Mark Green 18%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 45%
Judd Gregg 27%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top