or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United States Public Interest Research Group

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 86%
Gary Ackerman 86%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 5%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 85%
Todd Akin 10%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 5%
Rodney Alexander 24%
Wayne Allard 10%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 76%
Rob Andrews 81%
Joe Baca, Sr. 52%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 10%
Brian Baird 81%
Richard Hugh Baker 5%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 5%
Roscoe Bartlett 19%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 14%
Charlie Bass 19%
Max Baucus 60%
Evan Bayh 65%
Bob Beauprez 5%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 95%
Bob Bennett 0%
Shelley Berkley 62%
Howard Berman 76%
Marion Berry 38%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 85%
Judy Biggert 14%
Michael Bilirakis 14%
Jeff Bingaman 80%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 5%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 29%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 95%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 5%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 90%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 0%
Sherwood Boehlert 57%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 5%
Kit Bond 0%
Henry Bonilla 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 5%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 0%
Leonard Boswell 57%
Rick Boucher 52%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 95%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 38%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 29%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 5%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 67%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 81%
Henry Brown, Jr. 5%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 90%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 5%
Ginny Brown-Waite 5%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 5%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 5%
Dan Burton 19%
Steve Buyer 5%
Robert Byrd 80%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 0%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 0%
Chris Cannon 5%
Eric Cantor 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 14%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 90%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 90%
Dennis Cardoza 43%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 75%
Julia Carson 86%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Edward Case 76%
Mike Castle 48%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 10%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 70%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 5%
Chris Chocola 5%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 81%
Hillary Clinton 95%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 62%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 10%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 10%
Norm Coleman 15%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 65%
Kent Conrad 65%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 81%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 86%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Jon Corzine 95%
Jerry Costello 67%
Christopher Cox 5%
Larry Craig 5%
Robert Cramer 19%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 5%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 5%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 76%
Barbara Cubin 5%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 10%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 86%
Randall Cunningham 10%
Artur Davis 52%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 86%
James Davis 76%
Jo Ann Davis 14%
Lincoln Davis 43%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 95%
Thomas Davis III 29%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 85%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 86%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 86%
Bill Delahunt 95%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 95%
Thomas DeLay 0%
James DeMint 5%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 10%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 14%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 5%
Norm Dicks 76%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 81%
Chris Dodd 90%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Elizabeth Dole 15%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
John Doolittle 10%
Byron Dorgan 60%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 62%
David Dreier 5%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 14%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 29%
Vern Ehlers 52%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 86%
Jo Ann Emerson 5%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 86%
Philip English 0%
John Ensign 10%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 5%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 95%
Bob Etheridge 71%
Lane Evans 86%
Terry Everett 5%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 76%
Tom Feeney 10%
Russ Feingold 90%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 80%
Michael Ferguson 14%
Bob Filner 95%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 19%
Mark Foley 14%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 5%
Harold Ford, Jr. 76%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 10%
Barney Frank 86%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 5%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 24%
William Frist 5%
Elton Gallegly 5%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 5%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 38%
Jim Gibbons 10%
Wayne Gilchrest 48%
Paul Gillmor 10%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 5%
Charlie Gonzalez 62%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 5%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
Bart Gordon 48%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 5%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 5%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 10%
Mark Green 29%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 43%
Judd Gregg 50%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 90%
Gilbert Gutknecht 10%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 14%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 85%
Jane Harman 90%
Katherine Harris 10%
Melissa Hart 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 86%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Robert Hayes 0%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 10%
Joel Hefley 19%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 10%
Wally Herger, Jr. 5%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top