or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United States Public Interest Research Group

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 95%
Gary Ackerman 90%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 71%
Todd Akin 0%
Wayne Allard 14%
George Allen 10%
Thomas Allen 90%
Rob Andrews 90%
Joe Baca, Sr. 81%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 5%
Brian Baird 90%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
Cass Ballenger 0%
Roscoe Bartlett 29%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 10%
Charlie Bass 19%
Max Baucus 67%
Evan Bayh 57%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 95%
Bob Bennett 10%
Douglas Bereuter 10%
Shelley Berkley 90%
Howard Berman 90%
Marion Berry 67%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 90%
Judy Biggert 5%
Michael Bilirakis 24%
Jeff Bingaman 71%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 62%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 86%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 5%
Sherwood Boehlert 38%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 0%
Kit Bond 14%
Henry Bonilla 0%
Mary Bono Mack 5%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 0%
Leonard Boswell 81%
Rick Boucher 71%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 95%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 71%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 81%
John Breaux 43%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 81%
Henry Brown, Jr. 5%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 95%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 14%
Jim Bunning 5%
Conrad Burns 14%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 5%
Dan Burton 0%
Steve Buyer 0%
Robert Byrd 71%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 5%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 10%
Ben Campbell 14%
Chris Cannon 5%
Eric Cantor 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 86%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 24%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 95%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 90%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 95%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 71%
Brad Carson 48%
Julia Carson 95%
Mike Castle 38%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 10%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 62%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 86%
Hillary Clinton 81%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 71%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 14%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 10%
Michael Collins 0%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 62%
Kent Conrad 90%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 90%
Jon Corzine 95%
Jerry Costello 81%
Christopher Cox 5%
Larry Craig 5%
Robert Cramer 38%
Philip Crane 0%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 10%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 5%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 90%
Barbara Cubin 5%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 5%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 95%
Randall Cunningham 5%
Thomas Daschle 71%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 86%
James Davis 81%
Jo Ann Davis 14%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 95%
Thomas Davis III 29%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 90%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 5%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 95%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 95%
Bill Delahunt 95%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 0%
James DeMint 0%
Peter Deutsch 90%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 24%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 24%
Norm Dicks 81%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 81%
Chris Dodd 90%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 95%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 14%
Calvin Dooley 48%
John Doolittle 10%
Byron Dorgan 76%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 81%
David Dreier 5%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 5%
Jennifer Dunn 14%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 90%
John Edwards 81%
Chet Edwards 57%
Vern Ehlers 38%
Jo Ann Emerson 0%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 95%
Philip English 24%
John Ensign 24%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 5%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 95%
Bob Etheridge 81%
Lane Evans 95%
Terry Everett 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 90%
Russ Feingold 86%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 76%
Michael Ferguson 38%
Bob Filner 100%
Peter Fitzgerald 48%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 10%
Ernest Fletcher 0%
Mark Foley 19%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 0%
Harold Ford, Jr. 67%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 19%
Barney Frank 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 33%
William Frist 5%
Jonas Frost III 71%
Elton Gallegly 19%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 90%
Jim Gibbons 5%
Wayne Gilchrest 24%
Paul Gillmor 10%
Charlie Gonzalez 86%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 10%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 5%
Bart Gordon 76%
Porter Goss 14%
Daniel Graham 76%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 19%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 14%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 0%
Mark Green 19%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 62%
James Greenwood 29%
Judd Gregg 33%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 90%
Gilbert Gutknecht 5%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 5%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 14%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 86%
Jane Harman 76%
Melissa Hart 5%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 86%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 10%
Robert Hayes 5%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 0%
Joel Hefley 14%
Wally Herger, Jr. 0%
Baron Hill 67%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 71%
David Lee Hobson 0%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 90%
Pete Hoekstra 19%
Thomas Holden 67%
Ernest Hollings 81%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 100%
Darlene Hooley 90%
John Nathan Hostettler 14%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 19%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top