Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Race Forward

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Richard Alarcón 100%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Debra Bowen 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan No Party Affiliation 100%
Edward Chavez 100%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
Jerome Horton 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Cindy Montañez 100%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 100%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
Nell Soto 100%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
Leland Yee 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 90%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 90%
Rebecca Cohn 90%
Martha Escutia 90%
Dario Frommer 90%
Kevin Murray 90%
Joseph Nation 90%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 90%
Don Perata 90%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 90%
Ron Calderon 89%
Joe Dunn 89%
Denise Ducheny 80%
Michael Machado 80%
Nicole Parra 80%
Jack Scott 80%
Dean Florez 70%
Barbara Matthews 70%
Shirley Horton 60%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Bonnie Garcia 40%
Abel Maldonado 40%
Lynn Daucher 20%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 20%
Robert Leslie 20%
Bob Margett 20%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 20%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 20%
Samuel Aanestad 10%
Gregory Aghazarian 10%
James Battin 10%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 10%
Russell Bogh 10%
Dave Cox 10%
Robert Dutton 10%
Tom Harman 10%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 10%
Dennis Hollingsworth 10%
Guy Houston 10%
Richard Keene 10%
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 10%
Bill Maze 10%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 10%
George Plescia 10%
CA State Senate 21 Sharon Runner Republican 10%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer 10%
Mark Wyland 10%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Roy Ashburn 0%
David Cogdill 0%
Jay La Suer 0%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 0%
Charles Poochigian 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top