Rating Group: Race Forward

2004 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 10%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 20%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 20%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 90%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 10%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 100%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 90%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 100%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 100%
CA State Senate-21 Sharon Runner R 10%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 100%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 90%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan N/A 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer 10%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 10%
CA Supervisor-5 Joe Simitian N/A 100%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo 90%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill 0%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 20%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 100%
Samuel Aanestad 10%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Gregory Aghazarian 10%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Roy Ashburn 0%
James Battin 10%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Russell Bogh 10%
Debra Bowen 100%
Ron Calderon 89%
Joseph Canciamilla 90%
Edward Chavez 100%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
Rebecca Cohn 90%
Dave Cox 10%
Lynn Daucher 20%
Denise Ducheny 80%
Joseph Dunn 89%
Robert Dutton 10%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 90%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dean Florez 70%
Dario Frommer 90%
Bonnie Garcia 40%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 10%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 10%
Dennis Hollingsworth 10%
Jerome Horton 100%
Shirley Horton 60%
Guy Houston 10%
Richard Keene 10%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 0%
Robert Leslie 20%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Michael Machado 80%
Abel Maldonado 40%
Bob Margett 20%
Barbara Matthews 70%
Bill Maze 10%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 0%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 90%
Joseph Nation 90%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 100%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Nicole Parra 80%
Don Perata 90%
George Plescia 10%
Charles Poochigian 0%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Gloria Romero 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 80%
Nell Soto 100%
Mark Wyland 10%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.