Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Hispanic Leadership Agenda

2001-2002 Positions

Issues: Immigration
State Office District Name Party Rating
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 61%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 81%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 72%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 89%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 83%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 88%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 83%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 78%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 94%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 83%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 72%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 78%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 89%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 88%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 88%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 83%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 72%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 89%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 89%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 28 Adam Schiff Democratic 72%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 94%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 89%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 72%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 50%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 88%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 83%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 83%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 72%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 83%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 72%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 78%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 67%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 88%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 81%
MN U.S. House 4 Betty McCollum Democratic/Farmer/Labor 78%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 56%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 78%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 11%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 11%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 11%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 6%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 17%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 11%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 6%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 13%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 11%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 17%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 6%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 11%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 0%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 11%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 6%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 19%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 38%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 19%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 6%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 6%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 31%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 17%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 13%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 17%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 11%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 11%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 11%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 19%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 11%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 19%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 28%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 19%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 6%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 6%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 6%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 17%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 17%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 6%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 22%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 11%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 17%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 17%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 38%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 19%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 17%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 6%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 6%
FL U.S. House 1 Jeff Miller Republican 10%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 28%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 22%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 11%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 17%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 6%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 11%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 17%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 13%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 17%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 6%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 22%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 0%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 11%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 17%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 22%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 13%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 6%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 12%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 17%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 28%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 6%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 11%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 11%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 22%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 11%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 11%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 11%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 6%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 11%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 17%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 6%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 14%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 11%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 6%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top