Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Prosperity

2014 Positions (Jan. 7, 2014)

State Office District Name Party Rating
TX U.S. House 20 Joaquin Castro Democratic 11%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 22 Pete Olson Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 25 Roger Williams Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 27 Blake Farenthold Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 30%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 20%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 10%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 33 Marc Veasey Democratic 10%
TX U.S. House 34 Filemon Vela, Jr. Democratic 30%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 11%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 94%
UT U.S. Senate Jr Mike Lee Republican 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 80%
UT U.S. House 2 Chris Stewart Republican 70%
UT U.S. House 3 Jason Chaffetz Republican 80%
VA U.S. Senate Sr Mark Warner Democratic 0%
VA U.S. Senate Jr Tim Kaine Democratic 6%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 70%
VA U.S. House 2 Scott Rigell Republican 90%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 10%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 70%
VA U.S. House 5 Robert Hurt Republican 90%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 80%
VA U.S. House 9 Morgan Griffith Republican 80%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 10%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 0%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 0%
VT U.S. House At-Large Peter Welch Democratic 10%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 1 Suzan DelBene Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 3 Jaime Herrera Beutler Republican 67%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican 80%
WA U.S. House 6 Derek Kilmer Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 8 Dave Reichert Republican 60%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 10 Denny Heck Democratic 10%
WI U.S. Senate Sr Ron Johnson Republican 88%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 80%
WI U.S. House 2 Mark Pocan Democratic 20%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 10%
WI U.S. House 4 Gwen Moore Democratic 10%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 90%
WI U.S. House 7 Sean Duffy Republican 80%
WI U.S. House 8 Reid Ribble Republican 80%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Joe Manchin III Democratic 31%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 60%
WV U.S. House 1 David McKinley Republican 80%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 81%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 94%
WY U.S. House At-Large Cynthia Lummis Republican 90%
Rodney Alexander 67%
Rob Andrews 10%
Michele Bachmann 100%
Spencer Bachus 70%
Ron Barber 10%
John Barrow 30%
Max Baucus 25%
Mark Begich 8%
Kerry Bentivolio 80%
Tim Bishop 10%
John Boehner 50%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 71%
Bruce Braley 0%
Paul Broun 100%
Dave Camp 70%
John Campbell III 75%
Eric Cantor 80%
Saxby Chambliss 60%
Howard Coble 80%
Thomas Coburn 94%
John Dingell 10%
Jo Ann Emerson 0%
Bill Enyart 20%
Pete Gallego 10%
Joe Garcia 0%
Jim Gerlach 60%
Phil Gingrey 100%
Michael Grimm 40%
Kay Hagan 13%
Ralph Hall 90%
Colleen Hanabusa 20%
Tom Harkin 0%
Doc Hastings 80%
Rush Holt, Jr. 25%
Steven Horsford 13%
Mike Johanns 75%
Timothy Johnson 0%
Jack Kingston 89%
Mary Landrieu 19%
Tom Latham 80%
Frank Lautenberg 0%
Carl Levin 0%
Dan Maffei 10%
Jim Matheson 30%
Carolyn McCarthy 0%
Mike McIntyre 40%
Buck McKeon 70%
Mike Michaud 10%
Gary Miller 75%
George Miller 13%
Jim Moran, Jr. 10%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 22%
Alan Nunnelee 80%
Bill Owens 10%
Ed Pastor 10%
Tom Petri 70%
Mark Pryor 19%
Trey Radel 89%
Nick Rahall II 10%
Jay Rockefeller IV 7%
Mike Rogers 70%
Jon Runyan 70%
Brad Schneider 10%
Aaron Schock 80%
Allyson Schwartz 11%
Carol Shea-Porter 10%
Steve Southerland 80%
Steve Stockman 90%
Lee Terry 80%
John Tierney 10%
Mark Udall 0%
Mel Watt 20%
Henry Waxman 11%
Frank Wolf 50%
Bill Young 83%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top