or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Association of Social Workers

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
Gary Ackerman 88%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 12%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 12%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 100%
Rob Andrews 88%
Joe Baca, Sr. 100%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 14%
Brian Baird 88%
Richard Hugh Baker 12%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
Cass Ballenger 12%
Roscoe Bartlett 12%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 12%
Charlie Bass 25%
Max Baucus 88%
Evan Bayh 88%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Bob Bennett 0%
Douglas Bereuter 12%
Shelley Berkley 88%
Howard Berman 88%
Marion Berry 62%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 88%
Judy Biggert 25%
Michael Bilirakis 12%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 75%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 12%
Sherwood Boehlert 38%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 12%
Kit Bond 0%
Henry Bonilla 12%
Mary Bono Mack 25%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 20%
Leonard Boswell 62%
Rick Boucher 88%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 62%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 12%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
John Breaux 43%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
Henry Brown, Jr. 12%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Jim Bunning 0%
Conrad Burns 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 12%
Dan Burton 12%
Steve Buyer 14%
Robert Byrd 88%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 12%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 12%
Ben Campbell 0%
Chris Cannon 12%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 12%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 88%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 12%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 88%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 88%
Brad Carson 75%
Julia Carson 100%
Mike Castle 25%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 12%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 75%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 12%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100%
Hillary Clinton 88%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 12%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
Michael Collins 25%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 50%
Kent Conrad 75%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
Jon Corzine 100%
Jerry Costello 88%
Christopher Cox 12%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 25%
Philip Crane 0%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 12%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 88%
Barbara Cubin 17%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 12%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Randall Cunningham 12%
Thomas Daschle 75%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 88%
Jo Ann Davis 12%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100%
Thomas Davis III 12%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 12%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 12%
James DeMint 12%
Peter Deutsch 88%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 25%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 12%
Norm Dicks 75%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 75%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
Calvin Dooley 75%
John Doolittle 12%
Byron Dorgan 62%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 88%
David Dreier 25%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 25%
Jennifer Dunn 12%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 88%
John Edwards 88%
Chet Edwards 62%
Vern Ehlers 12%
Jo Ann Emerson 25%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 86%
Philip English 12%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 88%
Bob Etheridge 88%
Lane Evans 100%
Terry Everett 12%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Russ Feingold 88%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 88%
Michael Ferguson 25%
Bob Filner 100%
Peter Fitzgerald 25%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 12%
Ernest Fletcher 12%
Mark Foley 12%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 14%
Harold Ford, Jr. 88%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 12%
Barney Frank 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 38%
William Frist 0%
Jonas Frost III 88%
Elton Gallegly 12%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 88%
Jim Gibbons 25%
Wayne Gilchrest 14%
Paul Gillmor 12%
Charlie Gonzalez 100%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 12%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 12%
Bart Gordon 50%
Porter Goss 12%
Daniel Graham 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 12%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 12%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 12%
Mark Green 12%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 75%
James Greenwood 25%
Judd Gregg 0%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Gilbert Gutknecht 25%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 12%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 25%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 88%
Jane Harman 75%
Melissa Hart 12%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 12%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Robert Hayes 12%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 12%
Joel Hefley 12%
Wally Herger, Jr. 12%
Baron Hill 75%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 100%
David Lee Hobson 12%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 88%
Pete Hoekstra 12%
Thomas Holden 50%
Ernest Hollings 88%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 100%
Darlene Hooley 100%
John Nathan Hostettler 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top