or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Association of Social Workers

1996 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Howard Berman 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
Dale Bumpers 100%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
Barney Frank 100%
John Glenn 100%
Henry Gonzalez 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 100%
Joseph Kennedy II 100%
Tom Lantos 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
Robert Matsui 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Carrie Meek 100%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 100%
Donald Payne 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Louis Stokes 100%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 100%
Esteban Edward Torres 100%
Ed Towns 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Sidney Yates 100%
Gary Ackerman 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 90%
Rob Andrews 90%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 90%
David Edward Bonior 90%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 90%
Norm Dicks 90%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 90%
Calvin Dooley 90%
Victor Fazio 90%
Thomas Foglietta 90%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 90%
Daniel Graham 90%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 90%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 90%
Maurice Hinchey 90%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 90%
Patrick Kennedy 90%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 90%
Bob Kerrey 90%
John LaFalce 90%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 90%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 90%
Matthew Martinez 90%
Karen McCarthy 90%
Martin Meehan 90%
Carol Moseley Braun 90%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 90%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 90%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 90%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 90%
Paul Sarbanes 90%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 90%
David Skaggs 90%
Bruce Vento 90%
Albert Wynn 90%
Sam Gejdenson 89%
William Jefferson 89%
Daniel Inouye 88%
John Moakley 88%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 80%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 80%
Robert Borski, Jr. 80%
Rick Boucher 80%
Robert Byrd 80%
Thomas Daschle 80%
Chris Dodd 80%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 80%
Russ Feingold 80%
Elizabeth Furse 80%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 80%
Jane Harman 80%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 80%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 80%
Dale Kildee 80%
William Luther 80%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 80%
Alan Mollohan 80%
Patrick Moynihan 80%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 80%
Jim Oberstar 80%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 80%
Earl Pomeroy 80%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 80%
Charles Robb 80%
Karen Thurman 80%
Bob Wise, Jr. 80%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 80%
Michael McNulty 78%
Henry Scott Baesler 70%
Max Baucus 70%
Kent Conrad 70%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 70%
Byron Dorgan 70%
Chet Edwards 70%
Jonas Frost III 70%
James Merrill Jeffords 70%
Gerald Kleczka 70%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 70%
Thomas Manton 70%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 70%
Dave Obey 70%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 70%
Olympia Snowe 70%
John Spratt, Jr. 70%
James Barcia 60%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 60%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 60%
Richard Bryan 60%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 60%
Peter Deutsch 60%
Wendell Ford 60%
Benjamin Gilman 60%
Tony Hall 60%
W.G. Hefner 60%
Ernest Hollings 60%
Paul Kanjorski 60%
Herb Kohl 60%
Joe Lieberman 60%
David Minge 60%
Constance Morella 60%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 60%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 60%
Arlen Specter 60%
Bart Stupak 60%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 60%
Steven Schiff 56%
Robert Torricelli 56%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
John Breaux 50%
John Chafee 50%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 50%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 50%
Ronald Klink 50%
James Leach 50%
Jack Murtha 50%
Marge Roukema 44%
John Tanner 44%
Thomas Campbell 40%
Robert Clement 40%
Jerry Costello 40%
Robert Cramer 40%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 40%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 40%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top