or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: North Carolina League of Conservation Voters

2003 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
NC U.S. Senate Jr Kay Hagan Democratic 75%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 50%
NC U.S. House 9 Robert Pittenger Republican 33%
NC U.S. House 10 Patrick McHenry Republican 25%
NC State House 21 Larry Bell, Sr. Democratic 75%
NC State House 23 Joe Tolson Democratic 75%
NC State House 24 Jean Farmer-Butterfield Democratic 50%
NC State House 26 Namon Daughtry Republican 38%
NC State House 30 Paul Luebke Democratic 100%
NC State House 31 Mickey Michaux, Jr. Democratic 88%
NC State House 37 Paul Stam, Jr. Republican 63%
NC State House 42 Marvin Lucas, Jr. Democratic 75%
NC State House 44 Rick Glazier Democratic 100%
NC State House 53 David Lewis, Sr. Republican 50%
NC State House 56 Verla Insko Democratic 100%
NC State House 58 Alma Adams Democratic 75%
NC State House 62 John Blust Republican 50%
NC State House 79 Julia Howard Republican 50%
NC State House 83 Linda Johnson Republican 63%
NC State House 87 Edgar Starnes Republican 29%
NC State House 89 Mitchell Setzer Republican 50%
NC State House 101 Beverly Earle Democratic 75%
NC State House 102 Becky Carney Democratic 100%
NC State House 111 Timothy Moore Republican 25%
NC State House 120 Roger West Republican 38%
NC State Senate 3 Clark Jenkins Democratic 75%
NC State Senate 7 Louis Pate, Jr. Republican 75%
NC State Senate 26 Philip Berger, Sr. Republican 50%
NC State Senate 29 Jerry Tillman Republican 33%
NC State Senate 32 Earline Parmon Democratic 75%
NC State Senate 33 Stan Bingham Republican 100%
NC State Senate 34 Andrew Brock Republican 50%
NC State Senate 36 Fletcher Hartsell, Jr. Republican 75%
NC State Senate 39 Robert Rucho Republican 33%
NC State Senate 42 Austin Allran Republican 75%
NC State Senate 48 Thomas Apodaca Republican 50%
NC Commissioner of Insurance Wayne Goodwin Democratic 88%
NC Secretary of Administration Bill Daughtridge, Jr. Republican 71%
Charles Albertson 100%
Martha Alexander 100%
Bernard Allen 88%
Gordon Philip Allen 75%
Lucy Allen 100%
Cary Allred 25%
Rex Baker 25%
Bobby Harold Barbee, Sr. 57%
Jeffrey Barnhart 43%
Marc Basnight 67%
Curtis Blackwood, Jr. 50%
Harris Blake 50%
Donald Allen Bonner 75%
Alice Bordsen 100%
Joanne Bowie 25%
Harold Brubaker 50%
J. Russell Capps 13%
Robert Carpenter 25%
John Carrington 67%
Walter Church, Sr. 57%
Debbie Clary 67%
Daniel Clodfelter 75%
Lorene Coates 75%
Nelson Cole 75%
James Crawford, Jr. 63%
Billy James Creech 25%
Arlie Franklin Culp, Jr. 38%
William Thomas Culpepper III 75%
Walter Dalton 75%
Charlie Dannelly 75%
Michael Decker, Sr. 50%
Margaret Dickson 100%
Jerry Dockham 57%
Katie Dorsett 100%
Rick Louis Eddins 29%
James Samuel Ellis 57%
Bob England 75%
Stanley Harold Fox 75%
Phillip Frye 63%
Linda Garrou 100%
Pryor Gibson III 75%
Mitch Gillespie 25%
D. Goforth 75%
Michael Gorman 25%
William Grady 50%
Jim Gulley 57%
Joe Hackney 100%
Robert Phillip Haire 88%
John Hall 75%
Cecil Hargett 100%
James Harrell III 63%
Dewey Hill 63%
Mark Hilton 38%
Hugh Holliman 71%
Hamilton Horton, Jr. 75%
David Hoyle, Sr. 75%
Margaret Jeffus 75%
Charles Johnson 75%
Earl Jones 88%
Carolyn Justice 75%
Carolyn Justus 50%
John Kerr III 75%
Eleanor Kinnaird 100%
Joe Kiser 25%
Stephen LaRoque 63%
Jeanne Hopkins Lucas 100%
Vernon Malone 100%
Mary McAllister 75%
Daniel McComas 75%
William McGee 63%
Marian McLawhorn 88%
William Edwin McMahan 75%
Paul Miller 100%
David Morris Miner 63%
William Franklin Mitchell 25%
Tony Moore, Sr. 100%
Richard Morgan 86%
Don Munford 38%
Edd Nye 63%
William Owens, Jr. 63%
Jean Preston 25%
William Purcell 75%
Anthony Rand 75%
Ray Rapp 100%
Karen Ray 38%
John Melvin Rayfield 13%
Eric Miller Reeves 100%
John Rhodes 38%
Deborah Ross 100%
John Sauls 75%
Drew Saunders 75%
Paul Wayne Sexton, Sr. 50%
Larry Shaw 75%
Wilma Sherrill 75%
Fern Haywood Shubert 50%
R.B. Sloan, Jr. 50%
Fred Smith 50%
Robert Soles, Jr. 75%
Richard Stevens 50%
Bonner Stiller 100%
Ronnie Sutton 75%
Alvin Swindell IV 75%
Scott Thomas 75%
William Wainwright 71%
Trudi Walend 29%
Ronald Tracy Walker 75%
Edward 'Alexander Warner, Jr. 50%
Edith Warren 83%
Hugh Webster 50%
David Weinstein 67%
Jennifer Weiss 100%
Arthur Williams III 57%
Keith Williams 63%
Constance Wilson 50%
William Eugene Wilson 75%
Larry Womble 100%
Stephen Wray Wood 25%
Thomas Wright 63%
Douglas Yongue 75%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top