Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Conservation Voters New Mexico

2006 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
NM State Senate 1 William Sharer Republican 20%
NM State Senate 2 Steven Neville Republican 30%
NM State Senate 3 John Pinto Democratic 67%
NM State Senate 5 Richard Martinez Democratic 70%
NM State Senate 6 Carlos Cisneros Democratic 83%
NM State Senate 8 Pete Campos Democratic 100%
NM State House 9 Patricia Lundstrom Democratic 57%
NM State Senate 10 John Ryan Republican 40%
NM State Senate 11 Linda Lopez Democratic 90%
NM State Senate 12 Gerald Ortiz Pino Democratic 100%
NM State House 14 Miguel Garcia Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 16 Cisco McSorley Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 17 Mimi Stewart Democratic 100%
NM State House 18 Gail Chasey Democratic 86%
NM State House 19 Sheryl Williams-Stapleton Democratic 71%
NM State Senate 19 Sue Wilson Beffort Republican 50%
NM State Senate 20 William Payne Republican 14%
NM State Senate 25 Peter Wirth Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 27 Stuart Ingle Republican 30%
NM State House 27 Lorenzo Larrañaga Republican 50%
NM State House 28 Jimmie Hall Republican 57%
NM State Senate 29 Michael Sanchez Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 31 Joseph Cervantes Democratic 86%
NM State House 31 William Rehm Republican 57%
NM State House 32 Dona Irwin Democratic 44%
NM State Senate 35 John Smith Democratic 29%
NM State House 36 Andy Nuñez Republican 83%
NM State House 38 Dianne Hamilton Republican 57%
NM State Senate 38 Mary Papen Democratic 60%
NM State House 40 Nick Salazar Democratic 57%
NM State Senate 41 Carroll Leavell Republican 25%
NM State House 41 Debbie Rodella Democratic 50%
NM State House 42 Roberto Gonzales Democratic 71%
NM State Senate 42 Gay Kernan Republican 20%
NM State House 44 Jane Powdrell-Culbert Republican 33%
NM State House 45 Jim Trujillo Democratic 56%
NM State House 48 Luciano Varela Democratic 100%
NM State House 49 Don Tripp Republican 63%
NM State House 58 Candy Ezzell Republican 57%
NM State House 69 Ken Martinez Democratic 57%
NM Commissioner At-Large Mimi Stewart 100%
NM Attorney General Hector Balderas Democratic 100%
Rod Adair 20%
Ben Altamirano 86%
Thomas Anderson 57%
Janice Arnold-Jones 57%
Vernon Asbill 20%
Ray Begaye 50%
Mark Boitano 10%
William Boykin 57%
Donald Bratton 57%
Jose Campos II 71%
Joseph Carraro 22%
Ernest Chavez, Sr. 71%
Richard Cheney 25%
Kandy Cordova 43%
Kent Cravens 25%
Anna Crook 43%
Dianna Duran 10%
Dede Feldman 100%
Joseph Fidel 78%
Daniel Foley 33%
Justine Fox-Young 57%
Mary Helen Garcia 71%
Mary Jane Garcia 100%
Keith Gardner 57%
Phil Griego 88%
John Grubesic 90%
Joni Gutierrez 100%
George Hanosh 86%
Clinton Harden, Jr. 50%
Irvin Harrison 67%
John Heaton 57%
Manuel Herrera 71%
Ted Hobbs 56%
Timothy Jennings 63%
Rhonda Sue King 71%
Steve Komadina 22%
Antonio Lujan 100%
Ben Lujan, Sr. 100%
Terry Marquardt 56%
Kathy McCoy 71%
Rick Miera 86%
Brian Moore 57%
Cynthia Nava 100%
Al Park 100%
Danice Picraux 100%
Lidio Rainaldi 90%
Leonard Lee Rawson 13%
Shannon Robinson 29%
Harriet Ruiz 57%
Henry Saavedra 60%
Bernadette Sanchez 70%
Edward Sandoval 67%
Daniel Silva 71%
Helen Diane Snyder 30%
Joe Stell, Jr. 63%
Thomas Swisstack 57%
James Taylor 89%
Thomas Taylor 33%
Sandra Townsend 50%
Leonard Tsosie 57%
Gloria Vaughn 71%
Richard Vigil 50%
Jeannette Wallace 60%
Donald Whitaker 43%
Eric Youngberg 33%
Teresa Zanetti 57%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top