or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Gay Rights Information

2000-2002 Positions on LGBT Rights

State Office District Name Party Rating
SD Governor Dennis Daugaard Republican 0%
SD Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels Republican 0%
SD State House 2 Brock Greenfield Republican 0%
SD State House 4 James Peterson Democratic 0%
SD State House 12 Hal Wick Republican 0%
SD State House 21 Julie Bartling Democratic 0%
SD State Senate 4 Timothy Begalka Republican 0%
SD State Senate 13 Phyllis Heineman Republican 0%
SD State Senate 18 Jean Hunhoff Republican 0%
SD State Senate 19 Bill Van Gerpen Republican 0%
SD State Senate 24 Jeffery Rodrick Monroe Republican 0%
SD State Senate 27 James Bradford Democratic 0%
SD State Senate 29 Larry Rhoden Republican 0%
SD Council Member At-Large Kermit Staggers 0%
SD Commissioner 3 Paul Symens 0%
SD Commissioner At-Large Burt Elliott No Party Affiliation 0%
SD Commissioner At-Large James Lintz No Party Affiliation 0%
SD Commissioner At-Large Garry Allen Moore No Party Affiliation 0%
SD Commissioner At-Large Duane Sutton No Party Affiliation 0%
Gene Abdallah 0%
Stanford Adelstein 0%
Kenneth Albers 0%
Jerry Apa 0%
Eric Bogue 0%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 0%
Don Brosz 0%
Arnold Brown 0%
Jarvis Brown 0%
Richard Brown 0%
Quinten Burg 0%
Judy Clark 0%
Kay Davis 0%
Patricia de Hueck 0%
H. Dennert 0%
Michael Derby 0%
Larry Diedrich 0%
Elmer Diedtrich 0%
Robert Drake 0%
Jay Duenwald 0%
J.P. Duniphan 0%
Robert Duxbury 0%
Scott Eccarius 0%
Barbara Everist 0%
Charles Flowers 0%
Larry Frost 0%
Arthur Fryslie 0%
Cooper Garnos 0%
Margaret Gillespie 0%
Mary Glenski 0%
Richard Hagen 0%
Arlene Ham-Burr 0%
Tom Hansen 0%
Gary Hanson 0%
Dale Hargens 0%
Donald Hennies 0%
Thomas Hennies 0%
James Holbeck 0%
James Hundstad 0%
James Hutmacher 0%
Mike Jaspers 0%
Kent Juhnke 0%
Ted Klaudt 0%
Marguerite Kleven 0%
Frank Kloucek 0%
Gilbert Koetzle 0%
Al Koistinen 0%
Claire Konold 0%
Clarence Kooistra 0%
John Koskan 0%
Gerald Lange 0%
Cheryl Madden 0%
Christopher Madsen 0%
Matt McCaulley 0%
Alice Lucille McCoy 0%
Royal McCracken 0%
John McIntyre 0%
David Munson 0%
Casey Murschel 0%
Sam Nachtigal 0%
William Napoli 0%
Benjamin Nesselhuf 0%
Edwin Olson, Jr. 0%
Mel Olson 0%
Gordon Pederson 0%
William Peterson 0%
Carol Pitts 0%
Willard Pummel 0%
J.E. Putnam 0%
John Reedy 0%
Mitchell Richter 0%
Louis Sebert 0%
David Sigdestad 0%
Walter Slaughter 0%
Orville Smidt 0%
Burdette Solum 0%
Daniel Sutton 0%
John Teupel 0%
Paul Valandra 0%
Donald Van Etten 0%
Thomas Van Norman 0%
Drue Vitter 0%
Ron Volesky 0%
Fred Cavanaugh Whiting 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top