Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Utah Taxpayers Association

2007 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 3 Jack Draxler Republican 77%
UT State House 8 Gage Froerer Republican 81%
UT State House 11 Brad Dee Republican 80%
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 64%
UT State House 14 Curtis Oda Republican 94%
UT State House 35 Mark Wheatley Democratic 59%
UT State House 37 Carol Spackman Moss Democratic 56%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 75%
UT State House 39 James Dunnigan Republican 77%
UT State House 51 Gregory Hughes Republican 80%
UT State House 53 Melvin Brown Republican 53%
UT State House 60 Brad Daw Republican 82%
UT State House 61 Keith Grover Republican 75%
UT State House 69 Brad King Democratic 53%
UT State House 70 Kay McIff Republican 53%
UT State House 71 Bradley Last Republican 88%
UT State House 73 Michael Noel Republican 82%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 69%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 100%
UT State Senate 9 Wayne Niederhauser Republican 88%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 100%
UT State Senate 13 Mark Madsen Republican 93%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 100%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 86%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 82%
UT State Senate 19 Allen Christensen Republican 88%
UT State Senate 20 Scott Jenkins Republican 77%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 92%
UT State Senate 26 Kevin Van Tassell Republican 65%
UT State Senate 29 Stephen Urquhart Republican 82%
UT Auditor John Dougall Republican 88%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 80%
UT Commissioner of Insurance Todd Kiser Republican 77%
UT Mayor At-Large Ralph Becker 53%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 71%
UT Commissioner At-Large Kerry Gibson Republican 75%
Doug Aagard 88%
Sheryl Allen 56%
Sylvia Andersen 82%
Roger Barrus 88%
Gregory Bell 94%
Jim Bird 59%
Jackie Biskupski 63%
DeMar Bowman 63%
D. Chris Buttars 79%
David Buxton 67%
David Clark 82%
Stephen Clark 79%
Tim Cosgrove 53%
Greg Curtis 86%
Mike Dmitrich 65%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 100%
Carl Duckworth 53%
Dan Eastman 86%
Ben Ferry 59%
Fred Fife III 65%
Janice Fisher 73%
Lorie Fowlke 71%
Craig Frank 94%
Kevin Garn 75%
Brent Goodfellow 65%
James Gowans 59%
Jon Greiner 75%
Neil Hansen 67%
Lynn Hemingway 50%
Neal Hendrickson 50%
Christopher Herrod 80%
John Hickman 73%
Kory Holdaway 77%
Fred Hunsaker 59%
Christine Johnson 63%
Patricia Jones 65%
Sheldon Killpack 87%
David Litvack 69%
Becky Lockhart 77%
Steven Mascaro 60%
John Mathis 65%
Ed Mayne 88%
Scott McCoy 63%
Rosalind McGee 59%
Ronda Menlove 59%
Karen Morgan 69%
Michael Morley 100%
Paul Neuenschwander 87%
Merlynn Newbold 87%
Patrick Painter 100%
Darin Peterson 94%
Phil Riesen 47%
Ross Romero 77%
Stephen Sandstrom 88%
Jennifer Seelig 53%
LaWanna Shurtliff 53%
Gordon Snow 56%
Dennis Stowell 82%
Kenneth Sumsion 81%
Aaron Tilton 100%
Michael Waddoups 88%
Carlene Walker 88%
Mark Walker 87%
Richard Wheeler 85%
Larry Wiley 56%
Carl Wimmer 100%
Scott Wyatt 87%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top