Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Utah Taxpayers Association

2005 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 11 Brad Dee Republican 64%
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 60%
UT State House 14 Curtis Oda Republican 82%
UT State House 32 LaVar Christensen Republican 82%
UT State House 35 Mark Wheatley Democratic 45%
UT State House 36 Patrice Arent Democratic 33%
UT State House 37 Carol Spackman Moss Democratic 36%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 82%
UT State House 39 James Dunnigan Republican 67%
UT State House 51 Gregory Hughes Republican 100%
UT State House 60 Brad Daw Republican 82%
UT State House 69 Brad King Democratic 36%
UT State House 71 Bradley Last Republican 55%
UT State House 73 Michael Noel Republican 82%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 13%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 73%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 100%
UT State Senate 13 Mark Madsen Republican 89%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 90%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 100%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 78%
UT State Senate 19 Allen Christensen Republican 100%
UT State Senate 20 Scott Jenkins Republican 89%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 78%
UT State Senate 29 Stephen Urquhart Republican 80%
UT Auditor John Dougall Republican 100%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 100%
UT Commissioner of Insurance Todd Kiser Republican 91%
UT Mayor At-Large Ralph Becker 27%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 64%
UT Council Member At-Large David Ure 91%
UT Council Member North Craig Buttars Republican 90%
UT Commissioner At-Large Kerry Gibson Republican 73%
UT State Board of Education David Thomas 89%
Doug Aagard 73%
Jeff Alexander 90%
Ron Allen 63%
Sheryl Allen 64%
Roger Barrus 82%
Gregory Bell 75%
Jackie Biskupski 50%
Duane Bourdeaux 45%
DeMar Bowman 60%
D. Chris Buttars 100%
David Buxton 60%
David Clark 73%
Stephen Clark 91%
Tim Cosgrove 45%
David Cox 50%
Greg Curtis 100%
Mike Dmitrich 67%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 91%
Carl Duckworth 55%
Dan Eastman 88%
Beverly Ann Evans 100%
James Ferrin 100%
Ben Ferry 70%
Fred Fife III 56%
Julie Fisher 55%
Lorie Fowlke 64%
Craig Frank 91%
Brent Goodfellow 40%
James Gowans 55%
Karen Hale 33%
Neil Hansen 55%
Ann Hardy 73%
Thomas Hatch 88%
Parley Hellewell 100%
Neal Hendrickson 56%
John Hickman 60%
Dave Hogue 60%
Kory Holdaway 55%
Fred Hunsaker 64%
Bradley Johnson 91%
Patricia Jones 50%
Sheldon Killpack 89%
Susan Lawrence 50%
David Litvack 36%
L. Alma Mansell 86%
Steven Mascaro 70%
John Mathis 73%
Ed Mayne 44%
Scott McCoy 22%
Rosalind McGee 55%
Ronda Menlove 55%
Karen Morgan 64%
Michael Morley 91%
Joseph Murray 55%
Merlynn Newbold 90%
Patrick Painter 82%
Darin Peterson 89%
Ross Romero 36%
LaWanna Shurtliff 36%
Gordon Snow 78%
Aaron Tilton 91%
Michael Waddoups 88%
Carlene Walker 100%
Mark Walker 91%
Margaret Ann Wallace 80%
Richard Wheeler 91%
Larry Wiley 27%
Scott Wyatt 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top