or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Association of Counties

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 64%
Gary Ackerman 57%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 86%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 78%
Todd Akin 79%
Wayne Allard 89%
George Allen 89%
Thomas Allen 71%
Rob Andrews 71%
Joe Baca, Sr. 79%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 86%
Brian Baird 79%
Richard Hugh Baker 86%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 57%
Cass Ballenger 86%
Roscoe Bartlett 86%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 86%
Charlie Bass 71%
Max Baucus 78%
Evan Bayh 78%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 64%
Bob Bennett 89%
Douglas Bereuter 93%
Shelley Berkley 79%
Howard Berman 64%
Marion Berry 71%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 89%
Judy Biggert 79%
Michael Bilirakis 86%
Jeff Bingaman 78%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 71%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 57%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 79%
Sherwood Boehlert 86%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 71%
Kit Bond 89%
Henry Bonilla 86%
Mary Bono Mack 79%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 100%
Leonard Boswell 71%
Rick Boucher 71%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 78%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 79%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 71%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 71%
John Breaux 78%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 64%
Henry Brown, Jr. 93%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 57%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 78%
Jim Bunning 89%
Conrad Burns 89%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 86%
Dan Burton 57%
Steve Buyer 79%
Robert Byrd 67%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 79%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 86%
Ben Campbell 89%
Chris Cannon 64%
Eric Cantor 86%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 89%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 93%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 71%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 50%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 71%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 67%
Brad Carson 79%
Julia Carson 64%
Mike Castle 71%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 71%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 78%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 86%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 64%
Hillary Clinton 67%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 79%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 86%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 89%
Michael Collins 64%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 78%
Larry Combest 79%
Kent Conrad 67%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 50%
Jon Corzine 89%
Jerry Costello 57%
Christopher Cox 79%
Larry Craig 78%
Robert Cramer 86%
Philip Crane 79%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 78%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 86%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 64%
Barbara Cubin 64%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 79%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 57%
Randall Cunningham 86%
Thomas Daschle 67%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 50%
James Davis 71%
Jo Ann Davis 86%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 71%
Thomas Davis III 71%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 78%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 79%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 57%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 57%
Bill Delahunt 50%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 71%
Thomas DeLay 79%
James DeMint 86%
Peter Deutsch 64%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 56%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 79%
Norm Dicks 79%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 64%
Chris Dodd 89%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 57%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 89%
Calvin Dooley 79%
John Doolittle 79%
Byron Dorgan 67%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 64%
David Dreier 79%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 71%
Jennifer Dunn 71%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 78%
John Edwards 78%
Chet Edwards 79%
Vern Ehlers 93%
Jo Ann Emerson 79%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 79%
Philip English 93%
John Ensign 89%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 78%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 64%
Bob Etheridge 71%
Lane Evans 64%
Terry Everett 86%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 57%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 64%
Russ Feingold 22%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 78%
Michael Ferguson 86%
Bob Filner 64%
Peter Fitzgerald 67%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 50%
Ernest Fletcher 86%
Mark Foley 86%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 79%
Harold Ford, Jr. 71%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 86%
Barney Frank 50%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 86%
William Frist 78%
Jonas Frost III 71%
Elton Gallegly 79%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 64%
Jim Gibbons 79%
Wayne Gilchrest 93%
Paul Gillmor 86%
Charlie Gonzalez 57%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 79%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 86%
Bart Gordon 79%
Porter Goss 79%
Daniel Graham 67%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 86%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 79%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 67%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 86%
Mark Green 79%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 79%
James Greenwood 93%
Judd Gregg 89%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 64%
Gilbert Gutknecht 86%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 86%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 67%
Jane Harman 71%
Melissa Hart 93%
J. Dennis Hastert 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 50%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 86%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 89%
Robert Hayes 86%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 86%
Joel Hefley 86%
Wally Herger, Jr. 93%
Baron Hill 57%
Maurice Hinchey 71%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 57%
David Lee Hobson 86%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 79%
Pete Hoekstra 79%
Thomas Holden 79%
Ernest Hollings 67%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 64%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 57%
Darlene Hooley 79%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top