Search Form
Now choose a category »

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California National Organization for Women

2009 State Assembly Score

Issues: Women
State Office District Name Party Rating
Anthony Adams 15%
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 85%
Juan Arambula 77%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 85%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
Bill Berryhill 8%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 92%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 62 Steven Bradford Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 100%
Anna Caballero 85%
Charles Calderon 85%
Amina Carter 77%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 8%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 15%
Joe Coto 100%
Mike Davis 69%
Hector De La Torre 92%
Charles DeVore 15%
Michael Duvall 0%
Mike Eng 92%
Mike Feuer 100%
Nathan Fletcher 23%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 85%
Warren Furutani 92%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 92%
Martin Garrick 15%
Danny Gilmore 23%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 8%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 77%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 8%
Mary Hayashi 100%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 100%
Alyson Huber 92%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 8%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 8%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 8%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Fiona Ma 100%
Tony Mendoza 85%
Jeff Miller 8%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 15%
Roger Niello 15%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 15%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 92%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 100%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Mary Salas 100%
Lori Saldaña 85%
Jim Silva 15%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 100%
Cameron Smyth 23%
Jose Solorio 92%
Audra Strickland 15%
Sandré Swanson 100%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 85%
Alberto Torrico 100%
Van Tran 15%
Mike Villines 15%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top