or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Committee for an Effective Congress

1995-1996 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
Ronald Dellums 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
Thomas Foglietta 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
Donald Payne 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Louis Stokes 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
Bruce Vento 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Sidney Yates 100%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 95%
Gary Ackerman 95%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 95%
Howard Berman 95%
David Edward Bonior 95%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 95%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 95%
George Brown, Jr. 95%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 95%
Dale Bumpers 95%
Eva Clayton 95%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 95%
William Coyne 95%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 95%
Thomas Daschle 95%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 95%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 95%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 95%
Julian Dixon 95%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 95%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 95%
Lane Evans 95%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
Floyd Flake 95%
Barney Frank 95%
Elizabeth Furse 95%
Sam Gejdenson 95%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 95%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 95%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 95%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 95%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 95%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 95%
William Jefferson 95%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 95%
Joseph Kennedy II 95%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 95%
Tom Lantos 95%
Frank Lautenberg 95%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 95%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 95%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 95%
Robert Matsui 95%
Carrie Meek 95%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 95%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 95%
John Moakley 95%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 95%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 95%
Jim Oberstar 95%
Dave Obey 95%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 95%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 95%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 95%
Martin Olav Sabo 95%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 95%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 95%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 95%
David Skaggs 95%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 95%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 95%
Esteban Edward Torres 95%
Ed Towns 95%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 95%
Mel Watt 95%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 95%
Paul Wellstone 95%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 95%
Albert Wynn 95%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 90%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 90%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 90%
Jeff Bingaman 90%
Robert Borski, Jr. 90%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 90%
Kent Conrad 90%
Peter Deutsch 90%
Norm Dicks 90%
Chris Dodd 90%
Byron Dorgan 90%
Victor Fazio 90%
Russ Feingold 90%
Jonas Frost III 90%
John Glenn 90%
Henry Gonzalez 90%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 90%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 90%
Daniel Inouye 90%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 90%
Patrick Kennedy 90%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 90%
Dale Kildee 90%
John LaFalce 90%
Thomas Manton 90%
Matthew Martinez 90%
Karen McCarthy 90%
Martin Meehan 90%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 90%
Carol Moseley Braun 90%
Patrick Moynihan 90%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 90%
Bill Richardson 90%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 90%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 90%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 90%
Bob Wise, Jr. 90%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 85%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 85%
Rick Boucher 85%
Richard Bryan 85%
Robert Byrd 85%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 85%
Daniel Graham 85%
Tony Hall 85%
W.G. Hefner 85%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 85%
Paul Kanjorski 85%
Bob Kerrey 85%
Gerald Kleczka 85%
Herb Kohl 85%
William Luther 85%
Earl Pomeroy 85%
Bart Stupak 85%
Karen Thurman 85%
Robert Torricelli 85%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 80%
Jerry Costello 80%
Wendell Ford 80%
Ernest Hollings 80%
Ronald Klink 80%
Frank Mascara 80%
Paul McHale 80%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 80%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 80%
Charles Robb 80%
John Spratt, Jr. 80%
Rob Andrews 75%
James Barcia 75%
John Breaux 75%
Robert Clement 75%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 75%
Jane Harman 75%
Thomas Holden 75%
Joe Lieberman 75%
William Lipinski 75%
Michael McNulty 75%
David Minge 75%
Alan Mollohan 75%
Glenn Poshard 75%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 75%
Max Baucus 70%
Patsy Ann Danner 70%
Calvin Dooley 70%
Chet Edwards 70%
Bart Gordon 70%
Lee Hamilton 70%
Jack Murtha 70%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 70%
Timothy Roemer 70%
Frank Tejeda 70%
Henry Scott Baesler 65%
Robert Cramer 60%
John Tanner 60%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top