or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Committee for an Effective Congress

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
John Olver 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Gary Ackerman 95%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 95%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 95%
David Edward Bonior 95%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 95%
George Brown, Jr. 95%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 95%
Julia Carson 95%
William Clay, Sr. 95%
Eva Clayton 95%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 95%
William Coyne 95%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 95%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 95%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 95%
Bill Delahunt 95%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 95%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 95%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 95%
Bob Filner 95%
Barney Frank 95%
Sam Gejdenson 95%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 95%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 95%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 95%
Maurice Hinchey 95%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 95%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 95%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 95%
Patrick Kennedy 95%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 95%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 95%
Tom Lantos 95%
Frank Lautenberg 95%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 95%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 95%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 95%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 95%
Martin Meehan 95%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 95%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 95%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 95%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 95%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 95%
Major Owens 95%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 95%
Donald Payne 95%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 95%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 95%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 95%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 95%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 95%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 95%
Bruce Vento 95%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 95%
Mel Watt 95%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 95%
Paul Wellstone 95%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 90%
Thomas Allen 90%
Rob Andrews 90%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 90%
Jeff Bingaman 90%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 90%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 90%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 90%
Thomas Daschle 90%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 90%
Peter Deutsch 90%
Julian Dixon 90%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 90%
Byron Dorgan 90%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 90%
Lane Evans 90%
Russ Feingold 90%
Harold Ford, Jr. 90%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 90%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 90%
Daniel Inouye 90%
William Jefferson 90%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 90%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 90%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 90%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 90%
Robert Matsui 90%
Karen McCarthy 90%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 90%
Michael McNulty 90%
Carrie Meek 90%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 90%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 90%
John Moakley 90%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 90%
Dave Obey 90%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 90%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 90%
Martin Olav Sabo 90%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 90%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 90%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 90%
Robert Torricelli 90%
Ed Towns 90%
Robert Wexler 90%
Howard Berman 85%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 85%
Rod Blagojevich 85%
Robert Borski, Jr. 85%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 85%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 85%
Kent Conrad 85%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 85%
Chris Dodd 85%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 85%
Jonas Frost III 85%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 85%
Darlene Hooley 85%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 85%
Bob Kerrey 85%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 85%
John LaFalce 85%
Nicholas Lampson 85%
James Maloney 85%
Matthew Martinez 85%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 85%
Jim Oberstar 85%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 85%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 85%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 85%
Ciro Rodriguez 85%
Steve Rothman 85%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 85%
Vic Snyder 85%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 85%
Ted Strickland 85%
Bart Stupak 85%
Ellen Tauscher 85%
Karen Thurman 85%
Bob Weygand 85%
Bob Wise, Jr. 85%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 85%
Albert Wynn 85%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 80%
Rick Boucher 80%
Robert Byrd 80%
James Davis 80%
Norm Dicks 80%
Bob Etheridge 80%
Ernest Hollings 80%
Paul Kanjorski 80%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 80%
Dale Kildee 80%
Gerald Kleczka 80%
Dennis Kucinich 80%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 80%
William Luther 80%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 80%
Patrick Moynihan 80%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 80%
Earl Pomeroy 80%
Silvestre Reyes 80%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 80%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 80%
John Spratt, Jr. 80%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 80%
Max Baucus 75%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 75%
Richard Bryan 75%
Robert Clement 75%
Jerry Costello 75%
Calvin Dooley 75%
Chet Edwards 75%
Daniel Graham 75%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 75%
Herb Kohl 75%
Joe Lieberman 75%
David Minge 75%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 75%
Charles Robb 75%
Max Sandlin, Jr. 75%
Marion Berry 70%
Leonard Boswell 70%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 70%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top