or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: North Dakota National Federation of Independent Business

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
ND State Senate 2 John Andrist Republican 100%
Charles Axtman 100%
ND State House 22 Wesley Belter Republican 100%
Rick Berg 100%
LeRoy Bernstein 100%
James Boehm 100%
Thomas Brusegaard 100%
Rex Byerly 100%
ND State Senate 30 Ron Carlisle Republican 100%
ND State House 41 Al Carlson Republican 100%
ND Public Service Commissioner Randel Christmann Republican 100%
Chris Christopherson 100%
ND Governor Jack Dalrymple Republican 100%
John Dorso 100%
Tom Fischer 100%
ND State House 4 Glen Froseth Republican 100%
ND State House 41 Bette Grande Republican 100%
ND State Senate 41 Tony Grindberg Republican 100%
Albert Grosz 100%
G. Jane Gunter 100%
ND State House 46 Kathy Hawken Republican 100%
Dale Henegar 100%
ND State Senate 17 Ray Holmberg Republican 100%
Leonard Jacobs 100%
Connie Johnsen 100%
ND State Senate 14 Jerry Klein Republican 100%
ND State House 40 Matthew Klein Republican 100%
ND State House 13 Kim Koppelman Republican 100%
ND State Senate 40 Karen Krebsbach Republican 100%
Edroy Kringstad 100%
ND State Senate 13 Judy Lee Republican 100%
Evan Lips 100%
Stacey Mickelson 100%
ND State House 10 David Monson Republican 100%
Duane Mutch 100%
L.L. Naaden 100%
Donna Nalewaja 100%
Gary Nelson 100%
ND State House 14 Jon Nelson Republican 100%
ND State Senate 12 Dave Nething Republican 100%
James Alan Poolman 100%
Harvey Sand 100%
Randy Schobinger 100%
ND State House 2 Robert Skarphol Republican 100%
Al Soukup 100%
Allan Stenehjem 100%
Bob Stenehjem 100%
Ken Svedjan 100%
Gerald Orlando Sveen 100%
Mike Timm 100%
Herbert Urlacher 100%
Francis Wald 100%
ND State Senate 29 Terry Wanzek Republican 100%
ND State Senate 37 Rich Wardner Republican 100%
Amy N Kliniske Warnke 100%
ND State Senate 34 Dwight Cook Republican 88%
ND State House 23 Bill Devlin Republican 88%
ND State House 39 David Drovdal Republican 88%
ND State Senate 8 Layton Freborg Republican 88%
Pat Galvin 88%
Gereld Gerntholz 88%
Roxanne Jensen 88%
ND State House 15 Dennis Johnson Republican 88%
ND State House 47 George Keiser Republican 88%
RaeAnn Kelsch 88%
ND State House 39 Keith Kempenich Republican 88%
ND State Senate 47 Ralph Kilzer Republican 88%
Richard Kunkel 88%
Darrell Nottestad 88%
Alice Olson 88%
Clara Sue Price 88%
Dennis Renner 88%
Leland Sabby 88%
Kenneth Solberg 88%
Rod St. Aubyn 88%
Russell Thane 88%
Laurel Thoreson 88%
James Torgeson 88%
Darlene Watne 88%
ND State House 14 Robin Weisz Republican 88%
Roy Hausauer 86%
Eugene Nicholas 86%
Ben Tollefson 86%
John Traynor 83%
Earl Rennerfeldt 80%
Grant Brown 75%
ND State House 8 Jeff Delzer Republican 75%
Meyer Kinnoin 75%
Paul Murphy 75%
Rolland Redlin 75%
ND Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem Republican 75%
Lynn Thompson 75%
Duane Lee DeKrey 71%
ND State Senate 39 Bill Bowman Republican 67%
William Gorder 67%
Ed Lloyd 67%
Robert Huether 63%
ND State House 28 William Kretschmar Republican 63%
Ronald Nichols 63%
ND State Senate 24 Larry Robinson Democratic-NPL 63%
Janet Wentz 63%
Gerry Wilkie 63%
ND State House 43 Lois Delmore Democratic-NPL 50%
Lyle Hanson 50%
ND State Senate 6 David O'Connell Democratic-NPL 50%
Arlo Schmidt 50%
Harvey Tallackson 50%
Steven Tomac 50%
Ole Aarsvold 43%
Kenneth Kroeplin 43%
John Mahoney 43%
Vern Thompson 43%
Jim Yockim 43%
Mike Callahan 38%
James Oliver Coats 38%
Judy DeMers 38%
April Fairfield 38%
ND State House 18 Eliot Glassheim Democratic-NPL 38%
Howard Grumbo 38%
Aaron Krauter 38%
Les LaFountain 38%
ND State House 3 Andrew Maragos Republican 38%
Marv Mutzenberger 38%
ND State Senate 21 Carolyn Nelson Democratic-NPL 38%
Carol Niemeier 38%
Wanda Rose 38%
ND State Senate 4 John Warner Democratic-NPL 38%
Daniel Wogsland 38%
ND State Senate 11 Tim Mathern Democratic-NPL 33%
ND Commissioner At-Large Merle Boucher Democratic-NPL 29%
ND State House 28 Michael Don Brandenburg Republican 29%
Pam Gulleson 29%
Joel Curtis Heitkamp 29%
ND State House 26 Jerome Kelsh Democratic-NPL 29%
Bill Oban 29%
Linda Christenson 25%
ND State House 11 Scot Kelsh Democratic-NPL 25%
James Kerzman 25%
Elroy Lindaas 25%
Sally Sandvig 25%
Elwood Thorpe 25%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top