Rating Group: Association of Washington Business

2009 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
Gary Alexander 89%
Glenn Anderson 89%
Mike Armstrong 93%
Jean Berkey 48%
Dale Brandland 91%
Lisa Brown 43%
Tom Campbell 47%
Michael Carrell 88%
Larry Crouse 84%
Jerome Delvin 96%
Mary Lou Dickerson 47%
John Driscoll 79%
Deb Eddy 53%
Tracey Eide 46%
Mark Ericks 58%
Darlene Fairley 32%
Fred Finn 68%
Dennis Flannigan 54%
Rosa Franklin 42%
Tami Green 42%
Chris Gregoire 65%
Kathy Haigh 63%
Mary Haugen 70%
Bill Hinkle 95%
Janéa Holmquist Newbry 87%
Mike Hope 84%
Jim Jacks 47%
Ken Jacobsen 50%
Jim Kastama 63%
Claudia Kauffman 42%
Phyllis Kenney 47%
Lynn Kessler 58%
Adam Kline 36%
Kelli Linville 61%
Christopher Marr 46%
Marcie Maxwell 53%
Robert McCaslin, Sr. 87%
Jim McCune 89%
Dawn Morrell 53%
Bob Morton 91%
Al O'Brien 68%
Eric Oemig 38%
Cheryl Pflug 87%
Margarita Prentice 43%
Craig Pridemore 46%
Skip Priest 74%
Tim Probst 68%
Dave Quall 63%
Debbie Regala 43%
Mary Helen Roberts 42%
Phil Rockefeller 52%
Charles Ross 89%
Larry Seaquist 68%
Paull Shin 52%
Geoff Simpson 53%
Val Stevens 83%
Dan Swecker 92%
Rodney Tom 39%
Dave Upthegrove 47%
Deb Wallace 68%
Scott White 47%
Brendan Williams 47%
Alex Wood 47%
Joseph Zarelli 83%
WA State House-23 Position 1 Sherry Appleton D 47%
WA State House-19 Position 2 Brian Blake D 58%
WA State House-36 Position 1 Reuven Carlyle D 53%
WA State Senate-32 Maralyn Chase D 47%
WA State House-43 Position 2 Frank Chopp D 53%
WA State House-41 Position 2 Judy Clibborn D 58%
WA State House-34 Position 1 Eileen Cody D 47%
WA State Senate-29 Steve Conway D 47%
WA State Senate-27 Jeannie Darneille D 50%
WA State House-44 Position 1 Hans Dunshee D 56%
WA State Senate-22 Karen Fraser D 38%
WA State House-45 Position 1 Roger Goodman D 42%
WA State Senate-24 Jim Hargrove D 58%
WA State Senate-11 Bob Hasegawa D 41%
WA State Senate-19 Brian Hatfield D 65%
WA State Senate-44 Steve Hobbs D 50%
WA State House-11 Position 1 Zack Hudgins D 53%
WA State House-22 Position 2 Sam Hunt D 47%
WA State House-48 Position 1 Ross Hunter D 58%
WA State House-31 Position 2 Christopher Hurst D 58%
WA State House-32 Position 2 Ruth Kagi D 53%
WA State Senate-33 Karen Keiser D 39%
WA Auditor Troy Kelley D 74%
WA U.S. House-6 Derek Kilmer D 58%
WA State House-29 Position 2 Steve Kirby D 44%
WA State Senate-36 Jeanne Kohl-Welles D 35%
WA State Senate-21 Marko Liias D 37%
WA State Senate-1 Rosemary McAuliffe D 42%
WA State Senate-38 John McCoy D 53%
WA Council Member-8 Joe McDermott D 42%
WA State House-49 Position 2 Jim Moeller D 47%
WA State House-40 Position 2 Jeff Morris D 63%
WA Mayor-At-Large Edward Murray D 50%
WA State Senate-34 Sharon Nelson D 42%
WA State House-3 Position 2 Timm Ormsby D 47%
WA State House-33 Position 1 Tina Orwall D 53%
WA State Senate-43 Jamie Pedersen D 53%
WA State House-37 Position 2 Eric Pettigrew D 53%
WA State Senate-40 Kevin Ranker D 45%
WA State Senate-23 Christine Rolfes D 53%
WA State House-37 Position 1 Sharon Tomiko Santos D 53%
WA State House-38 Position 2 Mike Sells D 47%
WA State Senate-35 Timothy Sheldon D 92%
WA State House-45 Position 2 Larry Springer D 63%
WA State House-47 Position 2 Pat Sullivan D 53%
WA State House-19 Position 1 Dean Takko D 58%
WA State House-24 Position 1 Kevin Van De Wege D 42%
WA State Senate-26 Jan Angel R 84%
WA State Senate-10 Barbara Bailey R 89%
WA State Senate-2 Randi Becker R 92%
WA State Senate-17 Donald Benton R 86%
WA State House-15 Position 1 Bruce Chandler R 95%
WA State House-12 Position 1 Cary Condotta R 89%
WA State Senate-25 Bruce Dammeier R 89%
WA State House-20 Position 1 Richard DeBolt R 84%
WA State Senate-42 Doug Ericksen R 89%
WA State House-8 Position 2 Larry Haler R 95%
WA U.S. House-3 Jaime Herrera Beutler R 84%
WA State Senate-16 Mike Hewitt R 91%
WA State Senate-15 Jim Honeyford R 88%
WA State House-14 Position 1 Norm Johnson R 89%
WA State Senate-14 Curtis King R 88%
WA State House-8 Position 1 Brad Klippert R 95%
WA State House-7 Position 2 Joel Kretz R 89%
WA State House-39 Position 1 Dan Kristiansen R 84%
WA State Senate-30 Mark Miloscia R 47%
WA State House-20 Position 2 Ed Orcutt R 95%
WA State House-6 Position 1 Kevin Parker R 84%
WA State Senate-12 Linda Parlette R 86%
WA State Senate-39 Kirk Pearson R 84%
WA County Council-1 Dan Roach R 83%
WA State Senate-31 Pam Roach R 83%
WA State House-5 Position 1 Jay Rodne R 89%
WA State House-9 Position 2 Joe Schmick R 89%
WA State Senate-9 Mark Schoesler R 88%
WA State House-4 Position 2 Matt Shea R 78%
WA State House-7 Position 1 Shelly Short R 94%
WA State House-10 Position 1 Norma Smith R 89%
WA State House-15 Position 2 David Taylor R 93%
WA State House-16 Position 1 Maureen Walsh R 94%
WA State Senate-13 Judy Warnick R 95%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.