or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Tax Limitation Committee

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
John Ashcroft 100%
Robert Barr, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 100%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Ed Bryant 100%
Herbert Callahan 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 100%
Philip Crane 100%
Jennifer Dunn 100%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 100%
Joel Hefley 100%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 100%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 100%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 100%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 100%
Jon Kyl 100%
Ron Lewis 100%
Charles Pickering, Jr. 100%
Bob Riley 100%
Jim Ryun 100%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 100%
Bob Smith 100%
Bob Stump 100%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 97%
Richard Armey 97%
Roscoe Bartlett 97%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 97%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 97%
Larry Combest 97%
Christopher Cox 97%
Barbara Cubin 97%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 97%
Jay Dickey 97%
David Dreier 97%
Terry Everett 97%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 97%
J. Dennis Hastert 97%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 97%
Pete Hoekstra 97%
Duncan Hunter 97%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 97%
Stephen Largent 97%
John Linder 97%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 97%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 97%
John Peterson 97%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 97%
Robert Schaffer 97%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 97%
John Shadegg 97%
E.G. Shuster 97%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 97%
Floyd Spence 97%
Charles Taylor 97%
Todd Tiahrt 97%
Julius Caesar Watts, Jr. 97%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 97%
Wayne Allard 96%
William Phillip Gramm 96%
Rodney Grams 96%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 96%
Don Nickles 96%
Bill Archer 95%
Richard Hugh Baker 95%
Cass Ballenger 95%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 95%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 95%
Dan Burton 95%
Steve Buyer 95%
Michael Collins 95%
Thomas DeLay 95%
John Doolittle 95%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 95%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 95%
Wally Herger, Jr. 95%
Van Hilleary 95%
Joseph Knollenberg 95%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 95%
Robert Livingston 95%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 95%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 95%
Dan Miller 95%
Sue Myrick 95%
George Nethercutt, Jr. 95%
Michael Oxley 95%
Ronald Packard 95%
Richard Pombo 95%
George Radanovich 95%
James Rogan 95%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 95%
AZ U.S. House 5 Matthew Salmon Republican 95%
James Talent 95%
Henry Bonilla 94%
James Hansen 94%
Scott McInnis 94%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 94%
Paul Coverdell 93%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 93%
Jesse Helms 93%
Kay Hutchison 93%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 93%
Strom Thurmond 93%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 92%
Jim Bunning 92%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 92%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 92%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 92%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 92%
Mark Foley 92%
George Gekas 92%
Jim Gibbons 92%
William Goodling 92%
Gilbert Gutknecht 92%
William Lewis Jenkins 92%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 92%
James Nussle 92%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 92%
Joe Scarborough 92%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 92%
Joseph Skeen 92%
Cliff Stearns 92%
William Thomas 92%
Zach Wamp 92%
David Weldon 92%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 92%
Chris Cannon 91%
Randall Cunningham 91%
David McIntosh 91%
Wesley Watkins 91%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 90%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 89%
Michael Bilirakis 89%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 89%
John Cooksey 89%
Jo Ann Emerson 89%
Porter Goss 89%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 89%
David Lee Hobson 89%
John Nathan Hostettler 89%
Asa Hutchinson 89%
Henry Hyde 89%
Connie Mack 89%
Don Manzullo 89%
Edward Pease 89%
Rick Santorum 89%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 89%
Nick Smith 89%
Mark Souder 89%
John Sununu 89%
William Tauzin 89%
Fred Thompson 89%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 89%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 89%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 87%
Elton Gallegly 87%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 87%
Anne Northup 87%
Larry Craig 86%
Tillie Fowler 86%
Judd Gregg 86%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 86%
James McCrery III 86%
Craig Thomas 86%
John Warner 86%
Bill Young 86%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 85%
Herbert Bateman 84%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 84%
Merrill Cook 84%
Thomas Ewing 84%
Kenny Hulshof 84%
Bill McCollum 84%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 84%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 84%
Deborah Pryce 84%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 83%
Bill Barrett 82%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 82%
James Kolbe 82%
Trent Lott, Sr. 82%
Frank Murkowski 82%
Conrad Burns 81%
William Frist 81%
Paul Gillmor 81%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 81%
Mary Bono Mack 80%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 79%
Gene Taylor 79%
Rick Hill 78%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 76%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 76%
Gerald Weller 76%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 75%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 75%
Bob Bennett 74%
John McHugh 74%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top