or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Tax Limitation Committee

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 5%
Gary Ackerman 0%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 70%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 5%
Todd Akin 94%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 92%
Rodney Alexander 24%
Wayne Allard 98%
George Allen 90%
Thomas Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 3%
Joe Baca, Sr. 0%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 84%
Brian Baird 6%
Richard Hugh Baker 81%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
Cass Ballenger 81%
J. Gresham Barrett 100%
Roscoe Bartlett 94%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 94%
Charlie Bass 81%
Max Baucus 41%
Evan Bayh 25%
Bob Beauprez 95%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
Chris Bell 0%
Bob Bennett 93%
Douglas Bereuter 56%
Shelley Berkley 3%
Howard Berman 3%
Marion Berry 9%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 6%
Judy Biggert 70%
Michael Bilirakis 81%
Jeff Bingaman 5%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 95%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 3%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 0%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 97%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 0%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 81%
Sherwood Boehlert 75%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 83%
Kit Bond 85%
Henry Bonilla 65%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 67%
Mary Bono Mack 77%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 81%
Leonard Boswell 14%
Rick Boucher 6%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 5%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 23%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 72%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 96%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 0%
John Breaux 23%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 0%
Henry Brown, Jr. 75%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 93%
Ginny Brown-Waite 86%
Jim Bunning 90%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 97%
Conrad Burns 93%
Max Burns 81%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 81%
Dan Burton 92%
Steve Buyer 84%
Robert Byrd 8%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 70%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 78%
Ben Campbell 90%
Chris Cannon 97%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 89%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 18%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 70%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 0%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 3%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
Dennis Cardoza 9%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 16%
Brad Carson 27%
Julia Carson 0%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 89%
Edward Case 17%
Mike Castle 60%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 97%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 63%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 95%
Ben Chandler III 19%
Chris Chocola 92%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 0%
Hillary Clinton 5%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 3%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 92%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 88%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 83%
Norm Coleman 88%
Michael Collins 80%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 75%
Kent Conrad 10%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 9%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 95%
Jon Corzine 10%
Jerry Costello 12%
Christopher Cox 94%
Larry Craig 95%
Robert Cramer 18%
Philip Crane 100%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 95%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 77%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 3%
Barbara Cubin 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 81%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
Randall Cunningham 81%
Thomas Daschle 8%
Artur Davis 6%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 3%
James Davis 8%
Jo Ann Davis 86%
Lincoln Davis 28%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 3%
Thomas Davis III 63%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 15%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 97%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 11%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
Thomas DeLay 86%
James DeMint 84%
Peter Deutsch 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 83%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 77%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 92%
Norm Dicks 3%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 0%
Chris Dodd 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 15%
Elizabeth Dole 88%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 87%
Calvin Dooley 26%
John Doolittle 85%
Byron Dorgan 5%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 3%
David Dreier 70%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 97%
Jennifer Dunn 86%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 5%
John Edwards 0%
Chet Edwards 14%
Vern Ehlers 60%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 0%
Jo Ann Emerson 78%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 0%
Philip English 65%
John Ensign 98%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 90%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 6%
Bob Etheridge 3%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 86%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 0%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 0%
Tom Feeney 100%
Russ Feingold 13%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 3%
Michael Ferguson 78%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 95%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 92%
Mark Foley 76%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 89%
Harold Ford, Jr. 7%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 84%
Barney Frank 3%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 60%
William Frist 88%
Jonas Frost III 6%
Elton Gallegly 76%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 92%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 0%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 68%
Jim Gibbons 94%
Wayne Gilchrest 68%
Paul Gillmor 73%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 92%
Charlie Gonzalez 0%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 86%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 86%
Bart Gordon 15%
Porter Goss 72%
Daniel Graham 6%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 78%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 90%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 92%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top