or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Tax Limitation Committee

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 8%
Gary Ackerman 3%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 89%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Todd Akin 97%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 85%
Thomas Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 22%
Joe Baca, Sr. 0%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 91%
Brian Baird 3%
Richard Hugh Baker 85%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 3%
Cass Ballenger 80%
Roscoe Bartlett 97%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 97%
Charlie Bass 81%
Max Baucus 24%
Evan Bayh 21%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
Bob Bennett 97%
Douglas Bereuter 60%
Shelley Berkley 14%
Howard Berman 3%
Marion Berry 31%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 0%
Judy Biggert 83%
Michael Bilirakis 85%
Jeff Bingaman 6%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 25%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 6%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 91%
Sherwood Boehlert 61%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 97%
Kit Bond 91%
Henry Bonilla 83%
Mary Bono Mack 78%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 100%
Leonard Boswell 14%
Rick Boucher 17%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 17%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 94%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 6%
John Breaux 26%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 3%
Henry Brown, Jr. 86%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 3%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 94%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 94%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 86%
Dan Burton 97%
Steve Buyer 85%
Robert Byrd 12%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 83%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 86%
Ben Campbell 91%
Chris Cannon 94%
Eric Cantor 97%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 6%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 72%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 6%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 6%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 15%
Brad Carson 6%
Julia Carson 6%
Mike Castle 72%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 36%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 89%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 9%
Hillary Clinton 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 6%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 92%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 82%
Michael Collins 92%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 62%
Kent Conrad 6%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 6%
Jon Corzine 0%
Jerry Costello 8%
Christopher Cox 100%
Larry Craig 94%
Robert Cramer 47%
Philip Crane 100%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 87%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 83%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 6%
Barbara Cubin 93%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
Randall Cunningham 89%
Thomas Daschle 0%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 6%
James Davis 8%
Jo Ann Davis 94%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 9%
Thomas Davis III 69%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 89%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 0%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 36%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 3%
Thomas DeLay 100%
James DeMint 100%
Peter Deutsch 9%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 74%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 80%
Norm Dicks 0%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 0%
Chris Dodd 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 19%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 76%
Calvin Dooley 29%
John Doolittle 94%
Byron Dorgan 6%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 3%
David Dreier 89%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 97%
Jennifer Dunn 92%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
John Edwards 6%
Chet Edwards 8%
Vern Ehlers 83%
Jo Ann Emerson 82%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 3%
Philip English 78%
John Ensign 94%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 94%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
Bob Etheridge 8%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 89%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 0%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 3%
Russ Feingold 14%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 9%
Michael Ferguson 74%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 88%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
Ernest Fletcher 83%
Mark Foley 81%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 91%
Harold Ford, Jr. 12%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 86%
Barney Frank 3%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 77%
William Frist 100%
Jonas Frost III 0%
Elton Gallegly 86%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 0%
Jim Gibbons 89%
Wayne Gilchrest 72%
Paul Gillmor 74%
Charlie Gonzalez 3%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 97%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 100%
Bart Gordon 29%
Porter Goss 86%
Daniel Graham 6%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 78%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 91%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 86%
Mark Green 94%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 3%
James Greenwood 80%
Judd Gregg 97%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 6%
Gilbert Gutknecht 86%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 75%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 0%
Jane Harman 29%
Melissa Hart 86%
J. Dennis Hastert 36%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 89%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 94%
Robert Hayes 83%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 97%
Joel Hefley 97%
Wally Herger, Jr. 94%
Baron Hill 21%
Maurice Hinchey 3%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 8%
David Lee Hobson 81%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 8%
Pete Hoekstra 94%
Thomas Holden 11%
Ernest Hollings 9%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 0%
Darlene Hooley 8%
John Nathan Hostettler 92%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 69%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top