or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Tax Limitation Committee

1999-2000 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 21%
Gary Ackerman 13%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 76%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Wayne Allard 100%
Thomas Allen 12%
Rob Andrews 21%
Richard Armey 88%
Joe Baca, Sr. 0%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 67%
Brian Baird 21%
Richard Hugh Baker 73%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 12%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 16%
Cass Ballenger 85%
James Barcia 40%
Bob Barr, Jr. 100%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 15%
Roscoe Bartlett 94%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 87%
Charlie Bass 79%
Max Baucus 6%
Evan Bayh 3%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 16%
Bob Bennett 97%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 15%
Douglas Bereuter 55%
Shelley Berkley 30%
Howard Berman 12%
Marion Berry 24%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 14%
Judy Biggert 70%
Michael Bilirakis 64%
Jeff Bingaman 6%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 33%
Rod Blagojevich 21%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 6%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 79%
Sherwood Boehlert 55%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 72%
Kit Bond 91%
Henry Bonilla 66%
David Edward Bonior 12%
Mary Bono Mack 66%
Robert Borski, Jr. 10%
Leonard Boswell 27%
Rick Boucher 22%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 3%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 9%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 84%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 12%
John Breaux 20%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 12%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 13%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Ed Bryant 82%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 94%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 87%
Dan Burton 91%
Steve Buyer 72%
Robert Byrd 14%
Herbert Callahan 65%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 61%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 76%
Ben Campbell 94%
Chris Cannon 100%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 20%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 16%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 18%
Julia Carson 16%
Mike Castle 70%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 97%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 41%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 76%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 9%
Eva Clayton 12%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 17%
Robert Clement 24%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 16%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 91%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 94%
Michael Collins 97%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 80%
Larry Combest 84%
Gary Condit 55%
Kent Conrad 12%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 15%
John Cooksey 73%
Jerry Costello 16%
Christopher Cox 94%
William Coyne 9%
Larry Craig 97%
Robert Cramer 41%
Philip Crane 93%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 100%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 12%
Barbara Cubin 85%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 9%
Randall Cunningham 76%
Thomas Daschle 0%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 9%
James Davis 16%
Thomas Davis III 64%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 82%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 26%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 12%
Bill Delahunt 19%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 12%
Thomas DeLay 85%
James DeMint 94%
Peter Deutsch 21%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 91%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 62%
Norm Dicks 10%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 12%
Chris Dodd 3%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 30%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 88%
Calvin Dooley 21%
John Doolittle 88%
Byron Dorgan 9%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 21%
David Dreier 64%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 88%
Jennifer Dunn 79%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 6%
John Edwards 9%
Chet Edwards 15%
Vern Ehlers 59%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 84%
Jo Ann Emerson 61%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 20%
Philip English 73%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 94%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 12%
Bob Etheridge 27%
Lane Evans 19%
Terry Everett 72%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 6%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 6%
Russ Feingold 9%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 20%
Bob Filner 12%
Peter Fitzgerald 94%
Ernest Fletcher 76%
Mark Foley 79%
Harold Ford, Jr. 15%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 88%
Barney Frank 19%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 61%
William Frist 97%
Jonas Frost III 15%
Elton Gallegly 67%
John Ganske 59%
George Gekas 70%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 12%
Jim Gibbons 88%
Wayne Gilchrest 61%
Paul Gillmor 56%
Benjamin Gilman 41%
Charlie Gonzalez 15%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 15%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 91%
Bart Gordon 36%
Porter Goss 76%
Daniel Graham 3%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 94%
William Phillip Gramm 100%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 72%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 97%
Mark Green 82%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 33%
James Greenwood 69%
Judd Gregg 97%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 15%
Gilbert Gutknecht 85%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 97%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 82%
Tony Hall 18%
James Hansen 76%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 0%
J. Dennis Hastert 48%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 16%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 82%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 97%
Robert Hayes 85%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 100%
Joel Hefley 100%
Jesse Helms 100%
Wally Herger, Jr. 88%
Baron Hill 15%
Van Hilleary 91%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 12%
Maurice Hinchey 9%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 14%
David Lee Hobson 61%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 15%
Pete Hoekstra 91%
Thomas Holden 21%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top